Help - Can't connect to my wifi network after Froyo updateSupport


Last Updated:

  1. daveww

    daveww Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just installed 2.2 on my unlocked unbranded desire from CPW on Orange. All seems well except I can't connect to my wireless network any more. I've tried rebooting and tried setting up a new connection. I just keep getting "Obtain IP adress from .........." but it never connects. :confused:

    Can anyone help? please...........

    Dave
     

    Advertisement
  2. weegie1979

    weegie1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    im having similar problem i downloaded and installed update went through all the usual update motions installed update phone restarted said loading and started going from 1%-100% then said not responding force close or wait so i waited now phone has started back up and cant find my sim card or my sd card so cant get wifi to download it again well stuck phone just keeps restarting

    george
     
  3. benchmark

    benchmark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Have you switched on and of again, when off remove the battery and let it for about 30 secs. This solved someone elses camera not working problem.
     
  4. daveww

    daveww Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll give it a try. I've put the password back in so many times now I'm going nuts.....

    Dave
     
  5. daveww

    daveww Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    No still doesn't work :(

    Anyone else - Help Please

    Dave
     
  6. daveww

    daveww Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    aaaaaaaaaaaaargh ! restored factory settings and it still won't work. It scans for the network - finds it but won't connect. It continually say "Obtaining IP address from Belkin_N1_Wireles......." but doesn't find it. What am I doing wrong? or is it a fault/change with the new software?

    Dave
     
  7. deek0

    deek0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not gonna teach you how to suck eggs. But you tried turning your router on and off.
     
  8. daveww

    daveww Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks - tried that but no joy. I think I must be doing something wrong but can't work out what :confused:

    I tried another wireless router and it connected on an open network but I can't seem to connect to my own home router............:mad:
     
  9. daveww

    daveww Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could it be it will no longer connect by WEP or the settings are different?
     
  10. nafanny29

    nafanny29 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    On some routers (definately orange livebox) you have to access the router and temporarily allow it to connect to new devices before it will allow any new connections to the network. Just another thing to rule out.
     
  11. daveww

    daveww Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well solved it! :) I'm still not sure if I was doing something wrong but I'd got another router so I set that one up and connected via wpa/wpa2 and it was no problem at all. Bit of a pain having to reconfigure all our hmoe network pcs but it all works now - phew, need some strong drink now to get rid of the head ache! :D
     
  12. indie1982

    indie1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think it's anything you're doing wrong, my Desire no longer connected to the WiFi network at my parents' house but it did on Eclair.

    I just get the "Obtaining IP address" message continually, it works fine with my Apple Airport Extreme, the WiFi access point at my parents' house is a Linksys WRT300N.

    Nothing changed on my Desire, it just doesn't work any more, plenty of other people seeing the same kind of thing elsewhere on teh internets from FroYo not just with the Desire!

    Had a quick search on Google.
     
  13. dejf

    dejf New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, same issue. Since I upgraded from 2.1 to 2.2 I am having issue with obtainin IP address. It seems to be problem with some APs, It works fine on Thomson's one. If I set up Static IP I can get through but it is not solution, as I want to use DHCP.
     
  14. indie1982

    indie1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had a look on the Android issues list, searching for "DHCP" people seem to be having problems but I can't see a bug open for exactly the problem we and a lot of others are seeing. I think I might add a new issue, maybe we could compile a list of access points that DHCP worked fine on before 2.2?

    Working
    Apple Airport Extreme b/g/n mode - WPA2

    Not Working
    Linksys WRT300N - b/g/n/ mode - WPA
     
  15. dejf

    dejf New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Working
    THOMSON TG585v7 802.11b/g - WPA

    Not Working
    Linksys WRT350N
     
  16. jgrove

    jgrove New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not working with 2.2 Netgear SRXN3205
     
  17. jgorby

    jgorby New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not Working
    Microsoft MN700 Wireless Router (Home)
     
  18. jgorby

    jgorby New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not Working
    Microsoft MN700 Wireless Router (Home)

    Droid connected via DHCP with no problems before update.

    After update, via DHCP I get the "Obtaining IP address" message and finally it says my WIFI Network is "REMEMBERED" and shortly after that it will try and connect again.... "Obtaining IP address".

    Have gone through multiple shut downs of both devices, (Droid, Router) and still no good. I can connect with laptop and my daughters IPhone just as always.

    I am able to connect the Droid if I assign a static IP address.
     
  19. kebaros

    kebaros Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Working
    Netgear DG834G
    Netgear DGN2000
    Talktalk photoframe router
     
  20. Beaston

    Beaston New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey i'm having the exact same problem, is there a way of fixing this yet without buy a new router?
     
  21. simbravo

    simbravo New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    In my experience, this problem is all to do with the
     
  22. greylin

    greylin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    This didn't work for me today when my HTC Desire suddenly decided it would no longer connect to my home wifi network. Sleep = "never" was already in force.

    What did work was changing the channel on my router. It had been using channel 3 but I read elsewhere that the Desire likes channels 11 and 6, so I changed the router to 11, rebooted it, and voila - everything's working again. I hope this might help someone else who has the same problem.

    Beats me why it suddenly all stopped working in the first place, though, after months with no problems.
     
    regression likes this.
  23. danzman

    danzman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Greylin's suggestion worked for me! Changing the G channel to 11 solved my problem. Thanks, Greylin - you're my hero!!!

    p.s. I have a Froyo-upgraded Captivate.
    Access Point Router - Netgear WNDR3300 (DHCP server disabled) - Channel set to 11
    Gateway Router - Netgear FVS318 (set as DHCP server)
     
  24. greylin

    greylin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well, it's heroine actually ;) but you're most welcome. Somebody else's suggestion about an Orange phone helped me out in a similar way in the Android forum a couple of days ago and I was immensely grateful to them, so it's nice that what goes around comes around. Glad you got the network working again in the end!
     
  25. Jim255

    Jim255 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, I read through this thread, and none of the suggestions worked.
    I then poked about in the router software (Speedtouch) and in Home\Home Network\ Devices\ I discovered the MAC ID of my Desire HD. When I entered the configuration page for it, I was stunned to find the 'Allowed on WLAN' option set to NO! I unchecked the box, and all is now well.
    For the life of me, I don't know how that box got checked, but anyway, WiFi connection is now functioning fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...