Help - debranded my Desire - but stuck


Last Updated:

  1. hodge20001

    hodge20001 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yo,

    i debranded my Virgin Mobile HTC Desire (flashed with the stock rom from http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/67098-how-flash-debrand-your-desire.html)

    Now i still get the virgin flash screen and virgin media internet link. (which is expected apparently)

    But i CANT get the latest OTA update, my versions etc are below

    I want to completely debrand my phone so i can get updates etc ....

    Firmware Version :: 2.1-update1
    Baseband Version :: 32.30.00.28U_4.05.00.11
    Kernal Version :: 2.6.29-97da29ed
    htc-kernal@and18-2
    Build Version :: 1.15.405.4 CL155070 release-keys
    Software Number :: 1.15.405.4


    can anyone help. im majorly stuck
     

    Advertisement
  2. applefruit

    applefruit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    Try finding the update package manually. You're on the 405 software series, so it has been debranded.
     
  3. darthlinux

    darthlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    9
    My Software number is 1.15.405.3 does this mean I have debranded my phone?
     
  4. jsbombjack

    jsbombjack Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yep, just run the OTA update and you should be ok from there
    Settings -> About Phone -> System Software Updates
     
  5. hussar10a

    hussar10a Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you absolutely sure bombjack ? My software is also 1.15.405.3 , exactly as supplied direct from VM in April.

    I have never attempted to de-brand,unlock,flash etc etc.

    Every attempt to manually update tells me no updates are available and that my "phone is up to date"
     
  6. darthlinux

    darthlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    9
    Same here, my phone software is up to date
     
  7. jsbombjack

    jsbombjack Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    11
  8. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    that version is the very first Desire software version. The only way you're going to update is by using an RUU but it will completely reset your phone.

    You can either use the latest one available from HTC 2.10.405.2 OR you can get the newer (but only just available) 2.29.405.2

    2.29.405.2
    2.10.405.2

    As said, x.xx405.x is the generic HTC ROM version...
     
  9. darthlinux

    darthlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    9
    I debranded my phone by following the Broadband Genie, I had a error when running the RUU but when i ran it again as my phone was stuck on the bootloader as it was wiped it worked, so i am confused as the OTA update showws up to date
     
  10. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    It shows up to date as it's the very first version, just after release it was changed to 1.15.405.4 and that one is the first the OTA allows...you'll HAVE to use an RUU to get up to date but i will mean losing your data :(

    If you had to use a gold card to debrand in the first place you'll NEED your gold card for all future updates - be it OTA or RUU
     
  11. jsbombjack

    jsbombjack Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    11
    Which is why it is best to use the existing memory card in the phone as a gold card (having previously backed up your stuff)

    Perhaps the issue is not using the correct downloaded base firmware from the site in the guide? I know I was a little unsure as to which one to use. Eventually I used the one with the filename 'RUU_Bravo_HTC_Europe_1.15.405.3_Radio_32.30.00.28U_4.05.00.11_release_121865' I think. This gave me the base to be able to OTA update all the way to 2.2 with no issues.
     
    darthlinux likes this.
  12. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    You're probably missing a goldcard.
     
  13. darthlinux

    darthlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    9
    I did make a goldcard and it is the one I am using at the moment, all I need to know once I have made the goldcard, do I need to do it again, plus do I just need to plug my phone in put it on disk drive and run the RUU name in jsbombjacks post, if yes then can you link me to the RUU please.

    Plus do I run the RUU from my computer or my SD card?
     
  14. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    RUU are EXE files which are run through Windows. You need to have HTC Sync installed and your phone needs to be connected via HTC Sync and then you just run the file
     
    darthlinux likes this.
  15. darthlinux

    darthlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    9
    Do I need to set my phone up on HTC Sync?
     
  16. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    No, it just needs to show connected on the PC
     
    darthlinux likes this.
  17. jsbombjack

    jsbombjack Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    11
    The process I used was as follows:

    1) Remove the SIM Card from my phone (to prevent any sim locking from happening)

    2) Copy contents of the existing phone memory card to my laptop (by first connecting the phone as a disk drive only)

    3) Using the guide I linked previously, I made the memory card in my phone a goldcard (using the section in the guide marked 'Part 1: Creating a Gold Card'

    4) I downloaded the firmware from the linked site in the guide, assuming I had bootloader 0.75 (I had no idea which one I did have so I must have got lucky)

    5) Once downloaded, I ran the downloaded program on my laptop with my phone in HTC sync mode - but not while running HTC sync at the same time (though I did have it installed so the drivers were installed)

    5) Once installed, still with the sim card not in the phone, I ran the OTA update as many times as it required before it said no more updates and I was running firmware version 2.10.402.2

    6) Reinserted SIM card into phone and all was right with the world

    7) Restored my contacts from the backup service I use (WaveSecure)

    8) Copied the stuff back on to my phone memory card from the backup - left it as a goldcard though

    The actual steps are in the 'Update! The newer and simpler debrand method'
    but instead of using the froyo rom (could not find a working version) I used the older rom and used OTA updates. The most important thing I found was to not leave the SIM in the phone

    Hope this helps
     
    darthlinux likes this.
  18. darthlinux

    darthlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    9
    How did you run the OTA update with out the sim? did you use wireless?
     
  19. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Always best to run OTA on wireless anyway.
     
  20. jsbombjack

    jsbombjack Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    11
    Aye, wireless worked a treat

    Leaving the SIM card out apparently prevents SIM lock or something, so only put it back in when you are totally up to date
     
  21. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    ota doesnt always show up either
     

Share This Page

Loading...