help...dont understand how to root....


Last Updated:

  1. roland365

    roland365 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    6
    ive been waiting for the update and i found this site about the time the heros came out...i wanted to wait to root until i read more about it...then i heard 2.1 so i waited for that ..well its here and seems like noone likes it...i want to root 2.1.1 and i have no idea how...i read the faqs, read threads...i dont understand the computer lingo. can anyone help...if not i understand. if so lmk its much appriciated!:)
     

    Advertisement
  2. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    118
    Download Fresh Kitchen and then use the auto-root feature. Should be pretty simple for you.
     
  3. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    first question.
    Did you upgrade to 2.1 already?

    if so, forget rooting for now since the upgrade patched the exploit that was being used.

    if you didn't upgrade to 2.1, then read read read read and the read some more. start with the sticky at the top of this forum title root guide
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Are you saying you are currently on 2.1 and you want to root?? If so then, unfortunately, you are stuck where you are at for now.

    If you are 1.5 still, then you can root and install 2.1 ROM's.


    If on 1.5 go to geekfor.me to download the stuff the other poster referenced.
     
  5. roland365

    roland365 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    6
    no im not rooted. id like to root to get fresh 2.1
    i
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    What firmware are you CURRENTLY using, 1.5 or 2.1?
     
  7. roland365

    roland365 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    6
    1.5
     
  8. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
  9. roland365

    roland365 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    6
    dude i feel so dumb...sorry i dont know what the hell those instructions mean....thx anyway.
     
  10. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
  11. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Try THIS ONE then and see if that helps you more.

    You can also root manually... TRY THIS THREAD about halfway through the first post.

    If you aren't comfortable I would recommend reading up on rooting first and doing the first option.
     
  12. roland365

    roland365 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    6
    thx..ill read and read and hopefully this weekend ill try
     
  13. hood420

    hood420 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    21
    Rooting may seem daunting at first, but trust me if you follow the instructions step-by-step it's really easy. And if you by chance mess something up, come on here and ask for help and people will be more than willing to help you. (Be descriptive as to your problem if you have one)
     

Share This Page

Loading...