Help ! Flashing Brazilian baseband, now stuck on boot :-(


Last Updated:

  1. weasel

    weasel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    23
    OK. Was running GAOSP. Decided to go for unlocking to get the market.

    Flashed Brazilian baseband using Odin ( .tar in the PDA section )
    That's as far as I got. Seemed to flash successfully, but now stuck on Samusung logo.

    So if I am having this kind of luck, can someone hand hold me through the rest of this ??

    Forgot to add. After apparently successful flash, phone re-boots and I can see "recovery mode" in small letters, but it just seems to hang there.
     

    Advertisement
  2. weasel

    weasel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    23
    So I gave the original Bell firmware a go. At least I know its a "one package"

    Phone almost boots. I see the Bell logo. Samsung galaxy is there, small samsung logo appears then disappears and screen goes black. Don't know what I did but this is screwed ...
     
  3. weasel

    weasel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    23
    Progress. Factory reset in recovery mode worked. Phone booted ( whew ). Now to do the Brazilian, is it a " one package" ??
     
  4. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Well, what file did you download? If you downloaded the whole firmware, then yes, it's a "one package".
     
    weasel likes this.
  5. dri001

    dri001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    5
    I downloaded it as a one package using Odin, the same way you did the Bell Firmware. When it boots it might be in Spanish though. To change to English just go to the ninth setting click on it and then click the first option. You will see a list of options to change it to English.
     
    weasel likes this.
  6. weasel

    weasel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    23
    Crap. Well now I know what I did wrong ! Will continue tomorrow. Thanks guys !
     
  7. dri001

    dri001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    5
    It looks like you unlocked your phone. Did you use FastGSM or Bell?
     
  8. weasel

    weasel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    23
    Haven't quite yet. I flashed on the Bell firmware because I thought I was having problems. Turns out it was me not doing something right. Later today, I will be putting on the Brazilian baseband and unlocking via FastGSM ( already paid for a code )
     
  9. dri001

    dri001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    5
    I am interested in knowing how you made out with FastGSM. It wouldn't work no matter what I tried. Even their customer support couldn't help me. They ended up refunding my money. I ended up going to Bell. I have the Brazilian baseband on and after that the GAOSP worked perfectly. Market, account sync, the works. I am considering the $75 an investment in that it will make my phone more saleable when I go to sell it. Hope it works.
     
  10. weasel

    weasel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    23
    So far, it doesn't appear to be working. FastGSM's software is "reading software", but there is no progress at all ...
     
  11. weasel

    weasel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    23
    Houston: we have lift off !!!!
     
  12. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Good to know!

    Did you flash the Brazilian firmware or did you stay on bmik6 to do the unlocking? I'll probably be doing it soon. :D
     
  13. weasel

    weasel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    23
    I flashed the Brazilian firmware. Tomorrow I will continue my adventures and get GAOSP on .
     
    DaSchmarotzer likes this.
  14. weasel

    weasel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    23
    Does nobody else think its funny that I gave my phone a Brazillian ? Am I going to have to do this once a week so as not to get unsightly stubble ?
     
  15. dri001

    dri001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    5
    ??? - I think that went right over my head. :)
     
  16. weasel

    weasel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    23
    D: You can kill this thread now. Market is alive and well. Latest nightly is on and everything works just fine. Once I get my set-up complete, I'll arrange to send some $$ to Drakaz
     

Share This Page

Loading...