Help!!! How do I know if I have root access.


Last Updated:

  1. Hemlock

    Hemlock Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have followed the "IDOITS GUIDE TO ROOT" twice now and I don't think it is giving me root access. I even tried flashing a custom rom (Fresh) on the last attempt and it just seems like it is giving me the Sprint stock Rom. Shouldn't the custom Rom look different? Once rooted do I still need to use Unrevoked method to grant superuser access for Apps?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Daugusta12

    Daugusta12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should see some new app on your phone, i cant remember the name of it but its something with super in it i think. Just look around and see if you have any new apps.
     
  3. blu3g

    blu3g Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    18
    How far did you get in the guide? Did you stop when you got root? Or did you flash the recovery and then flashed a custom Rom? If you flashed a custom Rom, then it should have came with the superuser app. If you rooted and don't see the superuser app, then you need to unlock nand, flash a recovery, then flash a Rom with superuser permission.
     
  4. TheBiles

    TheBiles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    159
    Download "wifi tether for root users" from the Android Market. It will tell you if it has root access or not. You should also have a Superuser Permissions icon in your app list.
     
    PolicyWonk likes this.
  5. MisterEd

    MisterEd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    117
    Or download Titanium Backup from the Market. If you try running it without root you will get a message saying there is no root access.
     
  6. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    198
    if u dont see a super user app then u dont have root
     
  7. TheBiles

    TheBiles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    159
    Not totally true, since you will get that error if USB Debugging is disabled or BusyBox is not installed.

    -------------
    Sent from my HTC EVO 4G using Tapatalk Pro.
     
  8. kaw900r

    kaw900r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't see a Super user app in my apps i used the 3 step root method. But i was able toload the wifi tether root app from the market. When I ran the 3 step method it seemed to run fine but video showed more than mine did at final step of each step but it has also been updated so I thought that was why. I will try Titanium backup and see what happens.:cool:
     
  9. TheBiles

    TheBiles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    159
    The 3-step method doesn't install a custom ROM, does it? If not, you're still on the debug ROM, which is pretty bad. I'd recommend getting a custom ROM ASAP.
     
  10. SebastianX

    SebastianX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    63
    Install commandbot (free from the market) set the parameter to local and type su, if the prefix changes from $ to # you're root if not then you're not.
     
  11. Fr334all

    Fr334all New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    The name of the super user application is "Superuser Permissions", Atleast that is what I have on my Evo, after using unrevoked 3 on it.

    :DThanks for the help by the way, I had the same question, in concerns to whether or not I had successfully rooted my phone, and if I had to run unrevoked each time I wanted super user access. :D
     
  12. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    1. You should see the "superuser" icon in your app drawer
    2. If you download terminal emulator or commandbot (like mentioned earlier), type "su" (w/o quotes), and see a #, not a $, you're rooted
    3. Power you phone off then back on while holding volume down (this will take you to your bootloader screen) and you'll see something like this:

    SUPERSONIC EVT2-3 SHIP S-OFF
    HBOOT-0.97.0000
    MICROP-041f
    TOUCH PANEL-ATMEL224_16ab
    RADIO-2.15.00.09.01
    Aug 19 2010, 14:29:08

    Make sure it says S-OFF. That means you've unlocked nand access. There have been instances where Unrevoked won't unlock nand access and perform a soft root. This can be easily remedied by flashing Unrevoked Forever.
     
    bbpku and Matlock like this.
  13. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    110
    If you have S-OFF....Quick way to see if your root works:

    Download "ShootMe" from the market and start it up and follow the instructions to take a 'screenshot' of your phone's screen.
    Then, look in your gallery and see if its there.
     
  14. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    110
    Quick way number 2:

    Download MSL reader from the market and open it up, and click on read my MSL or something like that. It needs root to do it. If it says you have root and works, then you have root.

    Those are both quick ways, and Frenchy's way to download terminal emulator is also a quick way.
    (There are many many ways to check, these three being just quick and easy)
     
  15. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Actually, and I didn't believe it till I tried it, but..ShootMe works on the EVO UNrooted!

    Instead, I would try something "root only" like Titanium backup. Or get Terminal emulator and type "su" without the quotes. If you get # as a result, you are rooted.
     
  16. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    No app is going to tell you if you have S-OFF. You can only determine if you have a rooted ROM. Frenchy gave the best advice. Just go to hboot and see if you have S-OFF. There's a big difference between S-OFF and a rooted ROM, though. They are separate, and you can have one without the other. If you want to determine if you have root, just use the terminal emulator. If you must use an app, use something like wimax key checker. You want to use something designed to determine root, and do that only. If you use something more complicated, there could be other reasons why it might not realize you have root even when you do (titanium backup being a good example). Also, yeah, shootme has worked without root on and off for a while. Various OTA updates have either broken it or fixed it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...