• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

HELP! HTC Shift v.s. the rest

opulybbob

Lurker
Aug 3, 2011
So I'm a newbie to the Android os, and last week I upgraded from the ancient, and now obsolete palm pre, and bought the Samsung Nexus S..

There is nothing wrong with the way this phone operates in anyway, I'm having a hard time getting used to the touch screen typing and I am ALWAYS texting. The touch screen is super sensitive and I am constantly making typo's and I

So I'm a newbie to the Android os, and last week I upgraded from the ancient, and now obsolete palm pre, and bought the Samsung Nexus S..

There is nothing wrong with the way this phone operates in anyway, I'm having a hard time getting used to the touch screen typing and I am ALWAYS texting. The touch screen is super sensitive and I am constantly making typo's and I

Upvote 0
It would be helpful if you told us the reasons the couple of people had for telling you to stay away from the Shift!

The Shift does have an LED that reminds you of unseen notifications (email. text, etc.)

It has a slide out keyboard that is pretty good.

Thanks for the response.
my brother works for sprint and isn't crazy about the keyboard, especially if I'm going to be putting a case on it.. the other reasons would be the slower processor then the newer phones, and the fact that it doesn't have a front facing camera. I'm not into video chat right now but it is convenient for quick photos with friends .

Upvote 0
I've had the Shift since early April. It's not quite as fast as the Nexus S, but not a slug like the Hero was. I like the keyboard better than my wife's Epic. My only complaint is position of the volume toggle, but I've learned how to hold the phone so I don't hit nearly as often.

For someone who wants a qwerty keyboard, I'd recommend it.

Reactions: opulybbob
Upvote 0
Thanks for the response.