HELP: I can't push files using ADB!Support


Last Updated:

  1. Raadius

    Raadius Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    6
    First, I'm not rooted. I don't need root to push files using ADB though. I'm trying to push a file to "system/app" using ADB but I keep getting "permission denied". I've read countless threads and still cant get it.

    I can get everything started,

    F:\Android SDK\tools\
    F: adb devices

    Than it list my devices. Than I type in

    F:adb shell and I get a "$" sign.

    Anything I type after that I get permission denied.

    I tried adb push [insert file here] /system/app I get

    "ADB: Permission Denied."

    I tried adb remount, I get 'ADB: Permission Denied"

    Here is my log:
    Any help
     

    Advertisement
  2. JG-1

    JG-1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    Are you supposed to be in fastboot USB when doing this?
     
  3. im0rtalz

    im0rtalz Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    You have to boot into recovery first to push files into system I believe since you are not rooted.
     
  4. Raadius

    Raadius Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    6
    How do I do that?
     
  5. im0rtalz

    im0rtalz Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    In the adb shell

    adb reboot recovery

    Question though, I'm guessing you dont want to root your phone?
     
  6. im0rtalz

    im0rtalz Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Whoops sorry that wouldn't help. You would still need root for su permissions for /system.
     
  7. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    you are not using adb correctly.

    1) if you are using adb shell, you are now in shell mode, and you should be using standard linux commands. The "permission denied" error you are getting is misleading. If you type kjdzgkjfdlkgdhgslkhfdg and press enter, it will say permission denied. You should read the error as "unknown command."

    2) if you want to use adb to push files to your phone, you need to do that from your windows prompt, not inside adb shell. For example:

    3) I believe that you need to specify the target file name. it's not enough to specify the directory. See my push example above.

    4) /system/app is a root-only area. You can't mount that writable without root. So even if you got all the syntax right, it wouldn't work. You are right, though. Not all areas are protected, and you can indeed push files to your phone without root. /system/* is not one of those areas.

    Hope that helps.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  8. Raadius

    Raadius Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks Novox77, I'm guessing there is no way I can push my modified .apk than since it goes to the system/app :(
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  9. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    You can root your phone :) To even attempt what you are trying to do seems to indicate you're the type of person that would enjoy the benefits of rooting.

    I'd give it some thought. And there's lots of ppl here to help you through it. If you do your research and understand what's going on, it's pretty hard to screw up your phone trying to root it.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  10. JG-1

    JG-1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    novox,

    Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

    I'm use a MacBook Pro. I was trying to push a boot animation with adb after 5 hours just gave up.

    I DL'd SDK Android for Mac, put the boot animation zip in the tools folder, put the phone into recovery (bootloader usb) and connected it to my Mac, opened up Terminal and tried the following coomands:

    ./adb remount
    ./adb push bootanimation.zip /system/customize/resource
    ./adb reboot


    This is what Terminal said:

    [​IMG]

    I just can't get adb to work. No idea what I'm doing wrong.
     
  11. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    based on your screenie, my guess is that your current directory is not the /tools directory of the SDK. Therefore, when you call ./adb, your computer is saying, "I don't see the command adb in this current directory."

    A few unix basics:
    ~ = home directory
    . = current directory
    .. = parent directory
    pwd = command to show you what directory you are in
    cd ~ = go to your home dir. In your case, it appears to be johngirgenti/
    cd .. = go back one directory (the parent)
    cd / = go to the root directory (the parent of all folders; the root)
    ls -al = list contents of the current directory in vertical list format and showing all hidden files (files beginning with a dot).

    With these commands, you should be able to navigate the directories on your mac from the terminal.

    when you say ./adb, you are saying current directory/adb. Based on your prompt, you seem to be in your home directory. Unless you have defined the location of adb in your PATH environment variable, you can't just run adb from any location. I don't know where the default location of the android SDK is for the Mac, but you should navigate there (tools directory) and try your ./adb command from there.

    You are trying to replace the stupid 4G animation with your own 1337 animation. Here's how I'd do it, once you've verified you can get adb running:

    Do this while your phone is in custom recovery.
     
  12. JG-1

    JG-1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    I thought I had it this time. Rebooted the phone and the animation wasn't there...I think I give up...lol

    [​IMG]
     
  13. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    wrong directory. push it to /system/customize/resource/bootanimation.zip
    **also note, you need to specify the target file**

    be sure to mount /system first.

    and there's also an mp3 file you can replace in /system/customize/resource. it's the one that plays with the boot animation. sounds like crap.
     
  14. JG-1

    JG-1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gotcha...what do you mean by mount /system first?

    Sorry...slowly learning this adb stuff :(.

    Yeah...have an mp3 file too....just push it the same way right?
     
  15. JG-1

    JG-1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    Any idea?

    [​IMG]
     
  16. JG-1

    JG-1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    Again....thought I had it this time

    [​IMG]

    EDIT: SUCCESS!!! THIS WORKED!!

    [​IMG]
     
  17. JG-1

    JG-1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    Tried to do the mp3...thought I had it but on reboot it didn't play, any idea's?

    [​IMG]

    Tried this too...didn't work

    [​IMG]
     
  18. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    Did it play the original sound at all? If not, then I'm guessing the issue is with your mp3 file. try something standard like 44khz@128.

    Looks like your locations are different than mine. for me, on 2.1, the boot animation was in /system/customize/resource, and the sound was in /system/media. In 2.2 (for me), the sound was moved to /system/customize/resource, and it was also renamed.
     
  19. JG-1

    JG-1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    No, didn't play any sound.

    Here's the mp3 file I'm trying to push.....it obviusly works on Evo's....just not sure why I can't get it to work.

    [Boot Screen] Custom EVO animation - xda-developers
     
  20. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Pay close attention until you get the hang of it - ./adb means "execute adb from here" - .adb means nothing.
     
  21. JG-1

    JG-1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yeah...I've been typing ./adb for hours...couple times I forgot the / in there..lol

    Finally got it to work. Changed the file name to android_audio.mp3 and it finally flashed correctly.
     
  22. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    sounds like you are still on 2.1? that file name and location rings a bell for my old 2.1 boot mp3.
     
  23. JG-1

    JG-1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    No, def on 2.2
     

Share This Page

Loading...