Help, i wiped my phone and SD Card and now stuck in Fresh bootloop


Last Updated:

  1. J33P

    J33P Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so i got the phone off ebay, i knew it was rooted, but didnt know it would hurt it if i wiped everything off it, the other guys info and such. well i wiped it and now there is nothing on the phone or sd card. how do i get the phone to start working again. thanks in advance...
     

    Advertisement
  2. scmobileman

    scmobileman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are you able to boot into recovery? If so you could get the latest Fresh ROM and try to flash it.
     
  3. J33P

    J33P Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do you boot into recovery, and where would i get a Fresh ROM and how do i flash it...??? sorry im new to the android stuff
     
  4. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513

    I had a similar problem when my sdcard went bad.
    1. shut phone off
    2. hold volume up and press power button
    3. Select bootloader and press power button
    4. if you have recovery after bootloader searches for pc36img.zip it will have a list of items.
    5. scroll to recovery
    6. you will be either in clockwork recovery or ra recovery.
    if you get this far. report back as to what recovery you have as each have different ways to mount sdcard and flash a rom. The download link for fresh 3.2 is in my signature
     
  5. J33P

    J33P Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I think I have ra, it says Build : RA-evo-v1.7.0.1

    So now that do I do, I'm at a menu with green letters and it says android system recovery. Thanks again , now what do I do?
     
  6. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513

    In my signature, go to the fresh 3.2 site and download it to your computer.
    Take your usb cord and attach the phone to the computer while you are in recovery. You may need htc sync download this and install it if your phone doesnt get recognized by your pc.

    While in recovery, go to usb-ms toggle, and press the power button.

    Transfer the fresh 3.2 file to the root of your sdcard.

    Press the power button to return to previous menu

    go to flash zip from sdcard and press power button

    find the fresh zip file and press power button, it will ask you to confirm, press power button again and it will install, once installed you should be good to go and you will be able to set up your phone.
     
  7. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    234
    before you do the above you may need to wipe cache, dalvik cache and possibly user data. you may get stuck in a boot loop or no boot at all if you don't wipe your cache.

    you got stuck in a boot loop originally because you cleared the sd card. fresh rom will install some boot info onto your sd card. if you use a stock rom this will not be the case. i had this come up last week when i bought a bigger sd card. i had to wipe and reinstall my rom to get the phone to boot.
     
    wake69 likes this.
  8. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513

    Thanks, I am so use to these steps i sometimes forget to post them
     
  9. J33P

    J33P Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so im out of the bootloop and the phone looks like a new phone. but now things arent working... for example, when i click on the phone icon it says "Could not launch the requested activity" and when i try to change the home wallpaper it says " The application Settings(process com.android.setting has stopped working"

    so how do i fix these problems


    thanks again guys
     
  10. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513
    Did you wipe cache and dalvik cache before you flashed rom? if not you will need to do that and reflash
     
  11. J33P

    J33P Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so i wiped it and reflashed it, and im still getting the same thing
     
  12. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513

    You:
    1. wiped data
    2. wipe cache
    3. wipe dalvik

    and you still are having these problems?
     
  13. J33P

    J33P Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes
     
  14. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513
  15. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    234
    i would recommend wiping each twice, maybe even 3 times just to make sure you're clean. then install the stock rom and that should get you going.

    so if the above doesn't work...


    do you have a way of reading that sd card out of your phone?

    even better do you have another sd card to use? if you do i would put the stock rom on this other card flash it. then after it boots power down. swap the cards again. boot and format the original card through the phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...