Help, I'm on Wifi but somehow have used 700MB of data in one day


Last Updated:

  1. thewerks

    thewerks Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a Motorola droid yesterday and I've spent much of today just playing around with the phone and downloading a few apps, such as facebook, foursquare, msn messenger, yahoo messenger, a a couple others. Last night, as soon as I got home I connected it to the wifi, and all day today the wifi symbol is appearing on my phone. However, when I logged into my account to set it up, it says I have used almost 700MB of data, today alone. As I have been on wifi there should be NO data usage so I'm a bit confused. The only thing I can think of is that I had it plugged into my computer this morning and was using both my computer and my handset a bit while it was plugged it, but I don't think the laptop could be tethering through my phone could it? I never set anything up to do that. I dunno, if someone has any advice that would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    I can only address the tethering.... no, it could not do that as yes, you would have to download apps to make tethering possible at this time.
     
  3. blackmagi

    blackmagi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you sure you were actually connected to the WiFi spot? Or was it the symbol that said that WiFi networks are available? The only thing I can think of is that perhaps it was guzzling down 3G data. Perhaps try hitting up a Verizon store and see if they can explain where the 700MB of data came from or call Verizon because downloading a few apps shouldn't be that exhaustive.
     
  4. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    download WiFi Analyzer and see what WiFi is around, what your connected to, signal strength.. helpful app to have. get the additional plugin and you can jump onto other WiFi channels.
     
  5. xmr405o

    xmr405o Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,171
    Likes Received:
    1,185
    If you just received your droid, I would assume it downloaded the 2.1 update but that is only 180 MB I think so not sure where the other mbs came from. Did you have a gmail account that's linked to a picasa account? Maybe it was syncing through 3G which could/may explain your data charges. I wouldn't worry though since you have an unlimited data plan. Verizon can tell if you are tethering which you were not.
     
  6. jackburnt

    jackburnt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    63
    If it's using Wifi for data, it'll get rid of the 3G icon. If you see the 3G icon, you're using data and not wifi.
     
  7. thewerks

    thewerks Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    The symbol that appears is a small circle with three curved lines above it. I believe that is the wifi symbol isn't it? ... I will try downloading that app someone suggested in the other post
     
  8. thewerks

    thewerks Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I suppose it is not really an issue while in the U.S. However, I do go to Canada often and if i'm using that much data it could get REALLY expensive, so I'm trying to figure this out before I do. Also, I don't know what a picasa account is, so I will assume I don't have my gmail account linked to one haha. And how would I know if it was syncing through 3G? (sorry, I'm kinda new to the smartphone thing haha)
     
  9. ZeroBarrier

    ZeroBarrier Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Go into Settings > Wireless and Network settings > Wi-Fi settings > hit the menu soft button (the 4 lines next to back soft button on the front of the phone) > Advanced and check your Wi-Fi Sleep Policy.

    Make sure Never is checked. It could be that your Droid is reverting to 3G when you turn off your screen.
     
  10. lauracw

    lauracw New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't realize I had a Picasa account, but apparently every image I've ever uploaded to my blogger blog is stored on a Picasa account. So when I linked my Droid to my google account, they all showed up in my gallery. I don't know if this happened to you, just saying it is possible to have a Picasa account and not know it, lol!
     
  11. Titaniac

    Titaniac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    6
    If it is red and appears at the top left hand corner of the screen then that just shows you there are wi-fi networks available. If it is blue and appears more toward the center of the top of the screen then that tells you that you are connected to a wifi network.

    If you are connected to a wifi network ( the wifi symbol is blue) any downloads that you do should not count against you.
     
  12. allanlaw

    allanlaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    31
    You are NOT describing the symbols on a stock DROID (no color, just white). This may not be helpful to the OP.
     
  13. Titaniac

    Titaniac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    6
    You caught me. Thanks for the backup. I was wrong about the colors but correct about the placement. If you are connected to a wifi network the symbol will be toward the center of the top of the screen. If you are getting a notification that a wifi network is available then this symbol wll be toward the left of the top of the screen. Again thanks for the backup.
     
  14. allanlaw

    allanlaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    31
    :D
     
  15. thewerks

    thewerks Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, I'm definitely connected to wifi then
     
  16. thewerks

    thewerks Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank You, I'll try this and see if it helps
     
  17. riffdex

    riffdex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    32
    Well I have 75 MB of data usage since the beginning of May so idk >.<
     
  18. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    27
    honestly what is the big deal....Unlimited data means unlimited data...
     
  19. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4,219
    Likes Received:
    3,492
    They are going to do away with unlimited, or at least set up a 'bucket' plan much like they do with voice minutes...it's coming...sooner than later now.
    If there is a problem with the OP's phone (or settings) not staying on wi-fi and reverting to 3G when it should not it could spell real trouble down the line.
     
  20. shaggymatt

    shaggymatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    "Unlimited" is going away with LTE/4G. Further, if tomorrow they announce no more "unlimited" data, you're in a contract with an unlimited data plan, they can't yank that out from under you, otherwise they broke the terms of the agreement. You'll still have your unlimited data plan as long as you don't change your plan.
     
  21. takeshi

    takeshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    281
    Try reading post #8.
     
  22. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    27
    where is the TERMS AND CONDITIONS does it say there is a "cap". That is all speculation and can not be held up in the court of law. In fact I did a little research and this is what the Terms and Conditions states concerning the "unlimited" data package

    Terms & Conditions

    That is where the information is and here is a quote

     

Share This Page

Loading...