Help! Installed update on Eris and now phone doesn't work


Last Updated:

  1. athenssmile

    athenssmile Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the update on my eris and I am having problems. When I tap on phone, I get a message stating "Sorry! The process android.process.acore has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again. Force close". So, now that I have this update installed I can't use my phone as a phone?!?!?!?! Is anyone else having this problem?

    Also, several other messages popped up when the phone turned on telling me various processes were not able to open and needed to force close.

    I am so tempted to return this phone and just go back to my simple phone that allowed me to make phone calls as a phone should do.
     

    Advertisement
  2. athenssmile

    athenssmile Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I called Verizon and spent an hour and a half on the phone. The lady told me there must have been some kind of error during the installation, though had no idea what it could have been. I had to do a hard reset, which would lose all of my contacts and pictures. I had not backed up anything. Luckily, when we finally got the phone activated again, the contacts were intact. Apparently, because I had set up a google account, everything had been synced with google without me doing anything else. The contacts and pictures came back.

    Anyway, the lesson learned is to back up my stuff if I want it back on my phone.

    I hope no one else has the problems I ran into. It was very frustrating not being able to use my phone as a simple phone.
     
  3. athenssmile

    athenssmile Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since the update on Saturday, I have had to do a hard reset on my phone four times (four times in four days). I get force close messages, including one when I go to the phone. It prevents me from being able to make phone calls. Guess I am the only one experiencing this problem. I am taking the phone in for an exchange today and trying again.

    Are there any apps that I could be putting on my phone that are known to cause this problem?
     
  4. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    Definitely some apps causing this.

    Download TasKill (free), and look at what apps you have opened.

    All that should be on the list, give or take, is

    Touch Input
    Messages (and/or Handcent SMS, or whatever messaging program you have)
    com.htc.provider
    HTC Sense
    TasKiller

    If you have lots of apps downloaded, there may be more processes running. Anything on that list could be causing your freezing up problems.
     
  5. athenssmile

    athenssmile Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have advanced task killer, which I do use to kill apps. I took my phone in and exchanged if for another so as to avoid having to do a fourth hard reset after spending hours customizing my phone. I spent the weekend getting my phone the way I wanted it and decided to switch the slot index. I did this, the phone rebooted, and when it came on I had the same error messages. I am am knocked off of service and my phone does not allow me to make phone calls. I can still navigate around some apps (thank goodness, so I could use astro to back up my apps), but the phone is useless. I have just about had it with the Eris and I am considering going back to my old phone.
     
  6. honda4life

    honda4life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    my wife has the eris and she is now on her 3rd phone because it keeps freezing up and we have to remove the battery to be able to unlock the phone we just got the 3 phone tonight and if this one does it aswell we are taking it back to verizon and telling them we want our money back because this is ridiculous verizon does not understand people have better things to do than keep running back to the store for new phones so i feel your pain and frustration i myself have a mytouch with t-mobile and ive had it for over 6 months with no problems at all ever
     
  7. athenssmile

    athenssmile Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am with you. I just went and got my third phone today. I am afraid to download the update, but I don't know if I can stand the constant reminders I have an update available. I am about to the point I hate this phone. I wonder if there is something I am doing wrong. I have downloaded quite a few apps from the market. Is there a limit to how many apps I can put on? I put an antivirus app on it. Could that cause problems? I switched the slot index and a few of the support people said maybe that is what caused the problem (but they didn't know what the slot index is.) I had this problem before I changed the slot index. And anyway, the phone should still work if I make a change like that.

    I am beyond frustrated. Are there any other phones (besides the Droid) from Verizon that allow you such a wide selection of apps?
     

Share This Page

Loading...