Help! Losing battery life 3 posable culprits


Last Updated:

  1. Decus22

    Decus22 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    13
    My and my wife's phones both lost a lot of battery life the last 3 days.

    The only things that I have done to both phones is update from beast 7.4 to beast 7.5 using the update.zip, Flashed to taz1300 then back to 7.5 kernel using nadroid (trying to get rid of the stuck at 8oo Mhz while charging), and installed Not Call Log which just sends you back to your home screen instead of the call log after a call ends.

    We both unplugged around the same time 6 am this morning. She uninstalled not call log on hers for troubleshooting purposes and we went about our day. Got home around 6 tonight and they are both at 30%. With Beast 7.4 I was usualy between 50-60 because of bad recption at work. Shes usually around 70-80.

    Before I get jumped on. We have not changed our usage habits or phone settings at all. We have had these phones since release day so we have a good idea on our phones usual battery life to usage ratio. We have had not 1 issue with either phone at all what so ever up until I updated 7.5, the nandroid flashing between the Kernels and the app install. to bad I did them all in one sitting.

    Ideas, comments, questions, suggestions?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    I vote for the 1300 kernel, but that's just a guess. What are your CPU settings at? Maybe try the conservative or long life settings on Set CPU?
     
  3. Decus22

    Decus22 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    13
    I flashed to the taz 1300 and the stuck at 800 (950 on taz 1300) while charging didn't go away so I flashed right back to the 7.5 .boot

    on demand
    apply on boot
    All profiles set to 550 max 250 min
    battery set to switch at 50%
    Temp set to switch at 41.5c

    mine was at 950 hers was at 800 for the past two days. I set my wife's clock to 550 max this morning. I changed mine from auto detect to the droid profile and set my clock to the max stock 550 this morning.

    I think or hope it has something to do with the nandroiding between kernels. I just dont have time to mess with it till Friday.
     
  4. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Just a piece of advice: overclocking does not work the same way for each CPU. For instance, I could not run any Taz kernel above 1GHZ. His 1100 and 1300 kernels would either cause my phone to crash, or even not boot.

    Yet I'm running at 1200 with Sholes with zero issues.

    So you may need to change to another kernel or a lower kernel, not just throttle back with set CPU.
     
  5. Decus22

    Decus22 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'm gonna try nandroiding back to 7.4 and flashing to 7.6. Hopfully it clears it up. fingers crossed!:D
     
  6. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    When was the last time you calibrated your battery sensor by full charging then letting it run all the way down?
     
  7. israel90255

    israel90255 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    How are you running your profiles for setcpu...im also running sholesmod...but i need help in setting setcpu for my droid to run good
     
  8. israel90255

    israel90255 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    how are you running setcpu for sholes to run smooth??
     
  9. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    I had better battery life with 7.4 than I did with 7.5. Not a huge difference, mind you, and it was probably due to the clock difference. When I was running 7.4 I had it at 800 max, 7.5 I had it set at 950 max. Now I'm using 7.6 with 1100 max, so I'll see if that affects the life at all. So far it doesn't seem to be draining any faster than at 950.

    I assume that the battery drain is due to the overclocking. Even though I have profiles set up, with the clock that high my battery is definitely draining faster with each increase.
     
  10. Decus22

    Decus22 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    13
    This was a huge loss in batt life but I figured it out. I nadroided back this morning to 7.4 and left my wife's at as is. Compared them right now 6pm like yesterday. I'm at 60% hers is at 20%. It had to be either the flashing between kernels or both our phones didn't like 7.5.

    I'm flashing to 7.6 right now. Here's to hoping all stays well.
     
  11. brettlewis

    brettlewis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    49
    check the usage status, some apps were running at 70% on me when I wasent using them, seems to have some glitches.
     
  12. bchris1981

    bchris1981 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was in those exact circumstances with that EXACT problem. Except mine was worse! My battery would go from full to absolutely dead 3 hours off the charger. I backed down the clock to 550, no effect, reinstalled bb, no effect, factory reset, no effect.

    Finally I downloaded OS Monitor and found out that a process called "camera" was using 70 - 95 percent of the cpu's capacity! I killed the process, and the battery cooled down (from 41 degrees to about 30) the cpu was at 7 percent capacity idle, and things were normal.

    Until I noticed the battery heat up and the charge almost dead later that night! Sure enough "Camera" was back. Killed again, rebooted phone but it's there from the start. I cant find any boot process that could be causing it to load... or what it really is! So I'm still messed up and no clue what to do next :(
     
  13. bchris1981

    bchris1981 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    An update on my situation: seems each time I go to Gallery or try to use the camera is when that process runs that drains the cpu like that. But neither the Gallery nor the camera work! It hangs and says "loading" forever. Kind of a blurry background that never changes, as if the camera tried to turn on for a second... which doesn't make much sense when opening a picture file with the Gallery...
     
  14. Decus22

    Decus22 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    13
    did you make a nandroid backup before you installed any roms? if you did I would go into recovery and do a factory wipe. then flash that nandroid backup and reinstall a different version of bugless beast or another rom. That should cure your problem.
     
  15. bchris1981

    bchris1981 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I ended up finding a factory fresh rom and going completely out-of-the-box with it. Now everything works, rooted, put all my apps back on. My dozens of movies and hundreds of mp3. But.... I notice whenever i play a movie or music or use the camera, the "camera" app (android.process.media) will start up and run, and put 85-95% load on the cpu even after the music/movie/camera apps are killed. I kill the "camera" app (android.process.media) and sure enough it'll come back some hours later, or if i play media again or restart the phone. When looking at the log for the process it has alot of entries saying com.android.providers.downloads.DownloadProvider and com.android.providers.drm.DrmProvider

    So.. is the solution to delete the camera app (and get a better one off the market), or delete the DrmProvider.apx? I dunno what to do..
     
  16. bchris1981

    bchris1981 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well in case anyone ever experiences this issue (or similar) I can say that a combination of Task Manager & AutoKiller (on "moderate" setting) effectively snuffed the battery-killing processes earlier described. Relatively pain free and automatic! Only thing is my phone tends to slow down and need a reboot after heavy use, upwards of once a day.

    I still would feel better eliminating the cause as opposed to cleverly handling it's effects. If any1 has insight on that, I would appreciate it greatly! :)
     
  17. jdldf

    jdldf Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    what if I cannot charge to 100% is there another way to calibrate? I have tried two batteries one brand new
     

Share This Page

Loading...