Help me please


Last Updated:

  1. pitcha44

    pitcha44 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys ive just moved from nokia to a t-mobile G2 (htc hero) i luv it and hate it. I carnt seem to be able to find the radio i hate the way the sms is set up were i have to in put the number and not just type the name i want so i have to go into contacts and do it through there :mad: but the main thing is how do i put apps on the phone. i have downloaded ringdroid and co-pilot 8 and put them on the sd card but how do i find them in the phone and get them to run. the only thing i can do at the mo is put music into the folder on the sd card and it plays fine. please help guys as if i dont get on with this phone over the next few days it goin back :(
     

    Advertisement
  2. brigsteer

    brigsteer Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    There are thousands of apps to download and install on the Android marketplace. Press the little icon to the left of the 'Phone' on the homescreen to take yourself to the standard android view and load up the marketplace. You should find something from there.
     
  3. pitcha44

    pitcha44 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers ive just gone on and got ringdroid and thats workin cheers :)
     
  4. albatri

    albatri Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    In answer to your point about text messaging, you don't need to put the number in. When you go into 'compose message', touch on the 'to' box at the top, then just hit the first few letters of the contact you want on the keyboard and it shows you relevant people from your people list.
     
  5. pitcha44

    pitcha44 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    does not work on mine.
    for instant i type in wife and the number i get is 9433 :mad:
     
  6. jimeller

    jimeller Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    23
    just type in the first 2 letters of wife. that works for me
     
  7. pitcha44

    pitcha44 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bloody thing still not doin it. if i type 1 2 3 or 4 letters still nothing
     
  8. JoeC

    JoeC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    1
    Remember that Android forces multitap mode to select contacts. So, if you use the numeric keypad, you would have to correctly enter w, i, etc. using multitap.

    For example, "wife" would be: 9-4-4-4-3-3-3-3-3
     
  9. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    This is wrong, at least in my experience.
     
  10. pitcha44

    pitcha44 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    single tap multi tap triple tap still no go with it. ill have to get used to goin into contacs to send a text :(
     
  11. albatri

    albatri Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    How very strange. Contact HTC and see if it's a known issue.
     
  12. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just wondering if the hero has a different setup from the G1 ?

    On the G1 there is a screen in messaging that shows who and last text you sent/received. Once you send/receive a text you can just tap that list and text.

    Might keep you from having to goto contacts each time.
     
  13. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,389
    Likes Received:
    16,500
    What keyboard type do you have set (Settings - Locale & text - Touch Input)? I think if you use one of the QWERTY type with text prediction on it'll work as desired. It certainly does for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...