HELP! n00b screwed up flashing a ROM apparently...


Last Updated:

  1. UsedRomantic

    UsedRomantic Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have no idea what I did wrong. I rooted my phone, flashed it with DamageControl ROM and now all I get is the boot screen. I shows the "HTC Quietly Brilliant" opening screen, then switches to the "Sprint" logo, then goes back to the HTC screen. I don't know what to do, I probably shouldn't have even messed with this, but now I'm thinking I'm screwed. Please, any of you smart people out there able to help me?!
     

    Advertisement
  2. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Good news is, your phone boots and is likely not screwed.

    First thing is first. Did you make a nandroid backup before flashing the ROM? If so, you can always restore to that.

    Second, I'm guessing you probably didn't do something correctly in flashing the ROM (likely due to not wiping something). I would suggesting re-flashing the ROM, this time wipe both data and dalvik and see what happens.

    Any other details you can provide are of course helpful.
     
  3. UsedRomantic

    UsedRomantic Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well, it's really weird. I was dealing with that issue for about an hour and a half to maybe two hours, non-stop. I kept trying to hit Home and Power to go into boot mode, it would then only give me an option to delete information. I tried deleting, tried taking my battery out and putting it back in, tried plugging it into the computer...none of that worked.

    Then suddenly, it started booting just fine. I don't know what the crap I did to fix it, but it is running pretty good today. Much fast than 1.5. Any ideas on what happened? Any suggestions on if I should do anything at this point?
     
  4. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    it almost sounds like you didn't give it time to load for the first boot.
     
  5. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    108
    Naw, the same thing happened to my sister's hero as well. We forgot to clear the davlic cache and to do a data wipe lol
     
  6. UsedRomantic

    UsedRomantic Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    I thought it was only supposed to take half an hour, tops? I waited nearly two hours. Haha
     
  7. Squiggy

    Squiggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    18
    Sacrifice a live chicken while facing east.
     
  8. UsedRomantic

    UsedRomantic Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    I would laugh, if only this wasn't the truth and likely necessary.
     

Share This Page

Loading...