Help needed for new Hero owner on Orange UK


Last Updated:

  1. fatboy70

    fatboy70 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I'm new a new Hero owner as well as a new forum member.

    I have just bought the Hero handset SIM free but locked to Orange. Yesterday I changed my data package over as I previously had a blackberry. The Orange customer service guy said I could only get a 250mb allowance for
     

    Advertisement
  2. markie-m8

    markie-m8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  3. CitizenErazed

    CitizenErazed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    250 for
     
  4. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    I don't know about your data tracker app, but if you download NetSentry (free) it seperates between Wi-Fi and Network (2G/3G) usage.
     
  5. fatboy70

    fatboy70 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. fatboy70

    fatboy70 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Ill try that one.
     
  7. fatboy70

    fatboy70 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have started to do what I probably should have done to start with, that is download and read the manual.

    I am a bit worried that my Hero is only receiving GPRS and not 3G though. In the manual I should get a 3G symbol at the top of the homescreen, I am only getting a G.

    Is this correct ? I am in the Berkshire area in the UK.

    Thanks
     
  8. jimbobmcginty

    jimbobmcginty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    It really depends how far out in the sticks you are :)

    To test, follow these instructions....

    Go to the dialer and dial *#*#4636#*#* (which is *#*#INFO#*#*).
    Select "Phone Information".... Scroll to the bottom, and look for the 5th line from bottom, says either
    "WCDMA preferred" (use either 3G UMTS or 2G GSM) or
    "GSM only".

    Change this to "WCDMA only" - meaning only use 3G UMTS.


    If you get a signal and it says "3G", then 3G is available. If you get "H" then HSPA 3G is available (even faster).

    If there is no 3G signal then you might consider putting it on "GSM only" while at home - you will save battery.
     
  9. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    My advice to you would be to get the handset unlocked and go talk to t-mobile.

    You've gone to the expense of buying the handset without a contract, so the ball is in your court. Shop around, study the coverage maps.
    I know a lot of UK carriers are catering for people with their own handsets now.......

    Don't let Orange shove you around - they're not all that. 7 quid for 250mb is about 3 years out of date.

    Just my 2p
     
  10. CitizenErazed

    CitizenErazed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's an even simpler setting than the info menu for 3G coverage.

    Settings > Wireless Controls > Mobile Network > Use only 2G networks. I remember that was enabled on my phone for some reason after the last firmware update.
     
  11. fatboy70

    fatboy70 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0

    I put it into WCDMA only but get absolutely nothing when on it. I live in Thatcham, Berkshire but have tried it in Newbury and Reading but still nothing. I would have thought I should get 3G in these areas. :confused:
     
  12. fatboy70

    fatboy70 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked this and use only 2G networks is not checked. :confused:
     
  13. CitizenErazed

    CitizenErazed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, strange. I was in Reading for the festival and I was getting full HSDPA connections.
     
  14. fatboy70

    fatboy70 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am wondering if I need to use the simcard that came with the phone and not my older simcard, is there such a thing as 2g and 3g sim card ?
     
  15. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    Yes there is.
     
  16. fatboy70

    fatboy70 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got off the phone to Orange and I can't get 3G on the Hero as my sim card isn't 3g. :confused:

    He also said that they can't authorise a Sim card swap at the moment because the handset is not showing up on there system. :confused:

    I'm so confused now.

    All I want is to use all the capabilties of my phone, I paid
     
  17. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    I'd just give Orange the finger if I were you. When I last upgraded I lost all my magic numbers, after 2 months and 6 phone calls I just gave up trying to get them back.

    If you go down to a Three store they will give you a free 3g sim over the counter. My wife is with Three and they have been excellent, you will probably save the cost of unlocking your phone within a couple of months with their charges too.
     
  18. fatboy70

    fatboy70 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone put it in context for me the difference in speed between GPRS and 3G/HSPA ? is it 3 or 4 x faster ? more or less ?

    Thanks
     
  19. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    Google is your friend for this question.
     
  20. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yeah, it sounds like Orange are being petulant because they didn't sell you a handset.

    3 don't care, and neither do T-mobile. Get her unlocked (money well spent in any case- gives you more flexibility for future and resale value) and go get a better deal.

    Orange: "if your name's not down, you're not coming in"
     
  21. fatboy70

    fatboy70 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trouble is I'm locked into a contract until next april with Orange.:mad:
     
  22. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    Why on earth did you do that????

    You had your freedom, then got chained to Orange..............

    Never mind. Just have to ride it out I guess. I use 3g watchdog to monitor my data usage. It works really well, and you'll rarely get to 250mb if you have wifi, or take advantage of maccy D's or coffee shops free wifi.

    Just be sensible about it.

    Most of us are old enough to remember paying for time or data on the internet (in UK at least). You learn to download wisely! ;)
     
  23. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    Orange PAYG is horrid, the contracts are reasonable especially if you haggle.

    I first used Three to get a sim for my netbook, tried Orange but no joy. Their PAYG data packages are excellent and we have had no trouble with the coverage which they do have a bad reputation for.
     
  24. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    I must admit, I have never had a problem with three. Thier reputation at launch some years ago was terrible - but now (unless you need to speak to customer support) they are great.
     
  25. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    :eek:You have an Orange contract, bought an Orange branded phone and they will not send you a new sim card so you can make the best use of their network. I would be going nuclear.
     

Share This Page

Loading...