Help needed - Hero on ORANGE -unlock & android


Last Updated:

  1. mike100

    mike100 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, Could someone please tell me the easiest way to unlock a Hero on Orange network uk, and then install android 2.1. I will be using a 3 sim in the phone.
    I'm very new to all this, so please could you make it simple to understand.
    Thank you.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,493
    See this thread. Read it all, as there are risks involved.
     
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    What do you mean by unlock? Do you mean the phone is currently locked to orange sim cards, or that you want to get rid of the orange branded firmware?
     
  4. mike100

    mike100 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's locked to Orange sim, and I want ti use on 3 Network.
     
  5. mralistair

    mralistair New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Ok, then. Slug's link is all about removing the orange branded firmware. (That's the only way to get 2.1 at the moment since Orange haven't released their branded firmware).

    But like Slug said there are risks; the unbradned 2.1 isn't compatible with a lot of orange phones and so it's not recommended to try to debrand it.

    As for removing the Orange network lock, you need to buy an unlock code. You might run into trouble entering the unlock code, so if you do, have a read of this thread.
     

Share This Page

Loading...