Help needed installing stock 2.2 on Vodafone Desire with HBoot 0.83


Last Updated:

  1. l0gan5

    l0gan5 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all,

    sorry to trouble you, I have had a look through a number of threads but would like advise before proceeding further.

    My goal is to take my one-week old Vodafone Desire running 1.24.161.3 and HBoot 0.83 and update it with stock Froyo.

    I began following the instructions here:

    http://androidforums.com/1346408-post202.html

    and began the instructions for rooting the phone:

    [ROOT] Method for HBOOT 0.83 (SLCD phones) - xda-developers

    I got as far as Unrevoked telling me it had installed the ClockWorkMod and that my phone should reboot in recovery mode, however at this point the phone did nothing, just sat there with a black screen. I pulled the battery and the phone restarted as normal but I cannot see any reference to ClockWorkMod when I switch on holding volume down and power ?

    As far as I can tell I have root access as I can SU using Terminal, Titanium Backup installed ok and there is a SuperUser Permission app in All Programs.

    But I'm not sure where to go from here ?

    Also how do I tell whether my phone has Amoled or SLCD ? It's a UK model.

    thanks
    Russ.
     

    Advertisement
  2. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    See this thread for some info:

    [FAQ] HBOOT 0.83 / SLCD - rooting and recovery - xda-developers

    Vodafone has said that the froyo update will not be branded, and will be out in a week or two, so you may want to wait.

    You have SLCD because of the black screen on recovery.

    edit: although since you have rooted, you probably won't get the update OTA now.
     
  3. l0gan5

    l0gan5 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Teppic74,

    Still not sure what I should be doing next ?

    cheers
     
  4. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    If you want to install a custom ROM (like pre-rooted official froyo), you just need to reinstall unrevoked3 with the updated image contained in that FAQ. That will fix the black screen.

    It's difficult for you to install the official unbranded software because of your software version (which means you cannot upgrade to froyo OTA), so this is your best option.
     
  5. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
  6. l0gan5

    l0gan5 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry Teppic,

    I am completely stuck - I can't seem to get into recovery mode (or I can't see what I am doing!)

    I found this thread:

    [SLCD-BRICK] Fix is here! - xda-developers


    Not sure if I've messed things up installing ClockworkMod ?

    cheers
    Russ.

    PS. Should probably have done more research but hey, you can't beat a bit of baptism by fire sometimes ;-)
     
  7. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    As I said above, you just need to reinstall unrevoked3 with an updated image. Your phone isn't bricked.
     
  8. l0gan5

    l0gan5 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Teppic,

    Thanks for your patience! I'm sure it'll become second nature eventually ;-)

    OK, I have done the Unrevoked3 again which worked!

    I popped the pre-rooted Froyo zip on the card, installed it and voila, we're there :D

    Software is now showing 2.09.405.8.

    It feels incredibly fast too.

    cheers
    Russ
     
  9. anadroida

    anadroida New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    l0gan5, how did you get it to work? Whenever I try unrevoked3 I get the same result as you mention in your first post - the screen just switches off & I have to remove the battery to reboot... :mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...