Help needed urgently re:o2 web set up


Last Updated:

  1. red_ger

    red_ger Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,am desperate here,bought unlocked hero and o2 payango txts and web sim,tried everything to set up the web to no avail.

    Out of frustration rang o2,who have told me they can't send the settings for web as have not heard of or have settings for phone:mad:

    Advised me to return the phone for refund. FFS!!
    IS SHE RIGHT??

    Any help appricated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. red_ger

    red_ger Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all your input people:rolleyes:
    It is terrible to think I am the lonely o2 user!!!
     
  3. computerboyo

    computerboyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. red_ger

    red_ger Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes mate tried that just says contact CS!!
    Have tried a good lot of other settings posted on the web with no joy.
    Thanks Anyway Mate.
     
  5. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    Have you tried these settings -

    Press 'Menu'.
    Tap 'Settings'.
    Tap 'Wireless Controls'.
    Tap 'Mobile networks'.
    Tap 'Access Point Names'.
    Press 'Menu'.
    Tap 'Add APN'

    Now key in the following settings:

    Name: mobile web
    APN: payandgo.o2.co.uk
    Proxy: *LEAVE BLANK*
    Port: *LEAVE BLANK*
    Username: vertigo
    Password: password
    Server: *LEAVE BLANK*
    MMSC: *LEAVE BLANK*
    MMS Proxy: *LEAVE BLANK*
    MMS Port: *LEAVE BLANK*
    MCC: 12
    MNC: 10
    APN Type: default

    Press 'Menu'
    Tap 'Save'
     
  6. red_ger

    red_ger Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    aye mate it says MCC MUST HAVE 3 DIGITS. FFS

    Thanks away mate.
     
  7. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6

    Try the MCC as 234 instead.


    Chegs.
     
  8. red_ger

    red_ger Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    had already tried the 234, CP,It's starting to do my head in:(.
     
  9. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    Couple more combinations to try -

    MCC=234 MNC=02
    MCC=234 MNC=11


    Chegs.
     
  10. red_ger

    red_ger Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers,Chegs, do I just need to input those,or go through the whole thing again. THANKS.
     
  11. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    My understanding is you can just alter these specific sections. I'm no expert, just found these setting options following a couple of Google searches.


    Chegs.
     
  12. red_ger

    red_ger Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    THANKS will have a go at them!!
     
  13. red_ger

    red_ger Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems to me when I change the MNC number,it either reverts back to 10,or the whole lot disappears!!FFS

    Chegs,just to update nipped round to CPW, the manager in there said that o2 don't support the hero and won't get any settings that work.
     
  14. jameslfc

    jameslfc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try these mate,

    Press 'Menu'.
    Tap 'Settings'.
    Tap 'Wireless Controls'.
    Tap 'Mobile networks'.
    Tap 'Access Point Names'.
    Press 'Menu'.
    Tap 'Add APN'

    Now key in the following settings:

    Name: mobile web
    APN: mobile.o2.co.uk
    Proxy: *LEAVE BLANK*
    Port: *LEAVE BLANK*
    Username: web
    Password: password
    Server: *LEAVE BLANK*
    MMSC: *LEAVE BLANK*
    MMS Proxy: *LEAVE BLANK*
    MMS Port: *LEAVE BLANK*
    MCC: 234
    MNC: 10
    APN Type: default

    Press 'Menu'
    Tap 'Save'

    Press 'Back'.
    Press 'Menu'.
    Tap 'Add APN'

    Name: O2 MMS
    APN: wap.o2.co.uk
    Proxy: http://wap.o2.co.uk
    Port:9201
    Username: o2wap
    Password: password
    Server: http://mmsc.mms.o2.co.uk:8002
    MMSC: http://mmsc.mms.o2.co.uk:8002
    MMSproxy: 193.113.200.195
    MMS port: 8080
    MCC: 234
    MNC: 10
    APN type: mms

    Press 'Menu'
    Tap 'Save'

    Keep tapping 'Back' until you're back at your Home screen.
    Restart your phone and you should now have G/E/3G/H internet access as well as the ability to send/receive MMS. There is a problem with MMS on Android that limits image resolution to 160x120.
     
  15. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    jameslfc,

    I also found those settings, but wasn't sure they'd work as red_ger is on pay-as-you-go and I thought they were pre-pay/contract settings.

    However, hopefully they'll work and this can get sorted :D


    Chegs.
     
  16. jameslfc

    jameslfc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Chegs

    For contract i think, so think tho, it is different

    PAYG is payandgo.o2.co.uk

    Contract is mobile.o2.co.uk

    Hope you get it sorted mate its a great phone :)

    EDIT - Infact dont listen to that above :p tbh i think they'll work :-D

    Good Luck mate
     
  17. invinciblervd

    invinciblervd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is PayAndGo is the only APN settings available in your phone ? And is default and selected ?

    For me, the APN was already present, I just changed the address to payandgo.o2.co.uk

    and I changed the APN type from mms to default and saved it.

    Selected this APN and it worked :)
     
  18. red_ger

    red_ger Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you on o2 payango and getting internet mate?
    if you are could you post the exact settings that is on your phone,so as I can see where I am going wrong.

    will give it one last go with your settings and see what happens,if no joy will stick a vodafone sim it's the next best coverage where I live.
    having played around with the phone I really want to keep it:)
     
  19. red_ger

    red_ger Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    jameslfc,those settings worked with a simplicity sim I have,thought I was elected,so topped up another payasyougo with
     
  20. Wins

    Wins Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is my settings copied directly from my device. I have the unlimited text + web package. Although I wished I got H or even an E but only get G speeds right now. Anyone on the o2 with H? ;-0
     
  21. red_ger

    red_ger Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    SORTED GUYS THANKS A MILLION!!!!!!!!

    Wins it is dead slooooooooooooooooow,mate.
     
  22. Wins

    Wins Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you get G as well? It's damn slow but I mainly use wireless. I think there's another batch of settings somewhere that could make it faster but I'm not sure. :x, Please tell me if you find something better :(
     
  23. ajthomason

    ajthomason Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here - Only GPRS service from O2... but that is the best possible (nothing at all from Orange or T-Mobile unless I leave the phone by a specific window in my house!). I did get H when I went into town this afternoon... nice and fast :D
     
  24. Wins

    Wins Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put down my device once on the desk and when I picked it up, H were shown and than sadly disappeared :(
     
  25. ajthomason

    ajthomason Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    How about you try leaving it in different places in the building to see if it comes up anywhere properly? Or just use WiFi :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...