Help! New to Rooting and need held and advice.

Last Updated:

1. SplicedX

SplicedX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

I'll keep this short and to the point. First, i'm new to rooting and programming though i'm no noob when it comes to tech. I have several questions with regards to the process. I also am not looking to go crazy modding out my phone and i would like to keep it somewhat close to stock so that i can still use all of my apps and maybe recieve updates if possible. So, If anyone can get me going on a good setup, I would be very grateful.

My hboot is 1.47.0000
    And I am on the 2.1 OTA

1. what is a good stable ROM and setup to use?
    It has to be fast yet stable and have the ability to overclock

2. Are there simplified step by step instructions for rooting?
    I've seen the thread 1.5 to 2.1 and it kind of confused me.

Advertisement
  2. scary alien

scary alien not really so scary Moderator

DroidEris1981,

1. I would recommend Ivanmmj's Eris Official 1.0 w/overclocking:

[ROM] Eris_Official 1.0 Alpha With Controllable Overclocking! [5/9/2010] - xda-developers

It meets all of your requirements listed above (and its the one that I use :D).

2. Yes, there are simplified steps. You want to follow the http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/53963-guide-stock-1-5-latest-root-2-1-a.html which also work for 2.1 OTA phones (and you've got a 1.47 HBOOT, which is nice...:))

Make sure you peruse through all of the stickied threads in All Things Root (Eris) - Android Forums

I've also tried putting together a basic root troubleshooting guide (taken from other's useful posts in these forums) that it might be helpful for you to at least read through once, just to avoid some pitfals others have encountered: http://androidforums.com/all-things...oot-troubleshooting-guide-htc-droid-eris.html

Good luck and happy rooting!

SplicedX likes this.
  3. SplicedX