HELP. newb to hero


Last Updated:

  1. Vald

    Vald Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    I keep trying to set individual Text message sounds for my contact but i can't. When i try to set a notification sound its only for email and not texts. How can i change this? My phone is not rooted.
     

    Advertisement
  2. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    Goto the app (messages) then Menu>Settings>Select Sound

    Not selectable for individual contacts... not to my knowledge with stock app.

    Regards and welcome to the Hero!
    Bestest Phone - IMHO

    Added:
    Oh, Chomp & Handcent are two popular apps for use with messaging that offer more customization, but I don't use them. Also, be aware that you don't want the message count to get too high on any one contact due to the problem of deleting old text's.

    :cool:
     
    Vald likes this.
  3. Vald

    Vald Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    cool that did it. thx you very much for your help
     
  4. valdesr11

    valdesr11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    Your very welcome












    lol jp.
     
  5. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    It's cool, NP, that's what most of us are here for... to help and get help with the Hero.
    Welcome to the Forums!

    Happy Trails!
    :cool:
     
  6. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    47
    HTC Hero FTW! You're gonna love it!
     
  7. durandetto

    durandetto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    SMSPopup works for that too and you can keep the stock messaging app if you want it.
     
  8. Vald

    Vald Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Question again. i have noticed that if my phone is asleep it won't let me know i've gotten a text or email. is there a way to fix this? i sometimes get important messages from my boss at work and i can't afford to miss the messages
     
  9. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    You mean when the phone has been sitting around and screen is off?

    I have not experienced this problem... I have received a text message delayed (20 mins, only happened one time) but never not received one. I do remember reading others having the "not receiving text msg problem, so I would suggest to do a search here and see what comes up.

    :cool:
     
  10. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    What PRL are you on? Might need to update it and your profile.
     
  11. Vald

    Vald Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    how do i c which PRL i'm on?
     
  12. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Menu>Settings>About Phone>Status

    ...scroll down until you see PRL
     
  13. Vald

    Vald Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    current PRL is 60663

    this phone is not rooted
     
  14. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Your PRL is the most recent. Try updating your profile.

    Menu>Settings>About Phone>System Updates - Update Profile.
     
  15. Vald

    Vald Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    trying that now.
    The weird part about this problem is that is doesn't do it every time. its just random

    and the profile update is finished
     
  16. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Oh... random... ummm....

    If updating your profile doesn't work, I would call Sprint and have them check everything on their end. Perhaps they'll throw in a bonus discount or something.
     
  17. Vald

    Vald Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    sprint has yet to do anything for me discount wise. i guess i get the hard asses when it comes to discounts but they usually do get the problem fixed.

    Seems to be working fine at the moment. I have it set to send me an email when someone replies to this thread and ya, they seem to come through almost instantly
     
  18. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    I'm in the same boat... some people get all the luck!

    Test test test 1 2 3
     
  19. Vald

    Vald Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    does it matter the size of the image i use for the lockscreen or does it have to be 320 x 455?

    also, does anyone have a good site to get images from?
     
  20. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    The lockscreen uses the standard resolution of the screen (352x288). When you go to select an image you'll be able to select the portion of the image that you want to use.

    I usually use zedge (they also have an app), but a guick google search will pull up a TON.
     
  21. dizzy

    dizzy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like one of the posters in this thread I think I'm having a problem with Notifications and need some help.

    Here's what happens when the phone is asleep and I'm not around to answer it: the missed SMS or incoming call triggers the Notification light which blinks for 5 minutes ... after that, the only way I'll know I've got a waiting message, voicemail, etc. is if I awaken the phone and see the onscreen prompts.

    Is my phone operating properly?

    Is there a way to set the length of time the light blinks?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  22. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Yes, it is operating as designed. This is the way it works. I haven't found any way to increase the time of the blinking light. Handcent will remind you of an unviewed message again, with an audible notification, I think until it is viewed.
     
    Vald and dizzy like this.
  23. Vald

    Vald Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    i'm not using the Zedge app for most of my wallpapers and lockscreens.

    What lockscreen is everyone currently using and is it on a rooted or unrooted phone?

    also, is there a way to change the bar on the lock screen to something else? it kinda goes through the middle of my screen and it makes it ugly
     

Share This Page

Loading...