• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

[HELP] No home screen | Factory reset

GamerzZ5GT

Lurker
Jul 25, 2012
Hello, I'm really new to Android, and I'm having a problem, any help would be appriciated!

I rooted my Android phone (Samsung Galaxy S3) and I've deleted some stock apps and stuff like that (TouchWiz, and stuff like that). And I had a launcher called GO Launcher or something like that.

And it glitched up in a way, so I did a factory reset in settings, and when it starts up I set the time up n' stuff, and the setup wizzard or smth like that crashes, and I have no home screen or anything for that matter.

How can I fix this? I'm really REALLY new to Android, so please explain this in a noob-friendly way. Thanks!

I hate to tell you this, but ... well, here's the warning I usually give to new rooters ...

Let me offer a word of caution. Many apps provide services for other parts of the OS and if you remove them, you can disable certain features or make your phone unusable. More importantly, system apps are not easily restorable like simply installing an .apk file. And once deleted, even a factory reset will not recover them. You will have to locate and flash a stock rom image to get them back. If you plan on rooting and deleting those apps, please check back here first before you do anything so we can make sure it's safe for you to delete those without any negative impact to your phone.

I think it's a lesson you've learned the hard way. TouchWiz integrates many more services into the Samsung Android implementation than just the launcher. By deleting it from system, you've removed it from your phone so that even a reset won't bring it back. You are going to have to locate and flash a rom to get your phone back. You didn't mention which model you have (AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Intl., etc). Model number would be best to get you to the right place.

Upvote 0