help on 2.1 update for noobs like meGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. x106573

    x106573 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i need some help on updating my phone to 2.1

    so if someone could help me out as to tell me what all i need to do would be a great help. thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Hi.

    Give the following a try...

     
  3. gherre

    gherre Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Here is new X10flash for Firmware 2.1 Version (old 1.6 Firmware can not be flashed with this at the moment)". does this mean if i have a phone with 1.6 on it i cannot flash?
     
  4. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    No, it means you can't flash 1.6 FW to a phone with the tool, as it's for flashing 2.1 FW only.
     
  5. gherre

    gherre Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry I am new to this,
    i have a SE X10a locked to rogers and unrooted
    will i be able to flash my phone to 2.1 using only what was in that quote?
     
  6. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    EDIT: I would wait if you have an X10a.
     
  7. BingoRingo

    BingoRingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    54
    You can install 2.1 right now but it will be version X10i, not X10a. It should work well, but I'd rather wait until I get the update directly from SE (I have the unbranded X10a from Argentina) or better if a global version X10a comes up on the interweb.
     
  8. hitokiri

    hitokiri Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    7
    do i need to root my phone to perform that?
     
  9. Metaz

    Metaz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    "and run the X10flash.bat"

    Sorry for being slightly dim here but, I take it the phone has to be plugged into the PC for that bit? Does it have to be in flash mode or whatever?

    Cheers
     
  10. Metaz

    Metaz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay I followed the guide thing, and now when I turn my phone on it had a little picture of a camera and then the phone beneath it with an arrow pointing from the camera to the phone. Couldn't do anything with it. It managed to get past that after about 5 mins to the SE logo and animation but it's now stuck with the logo and the SE text beneath it after all the colours swirl around it. Has just frozen again. Suggestions?
     
  11. Diamondz

    Diamondz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem. What became my solution was to clear out the deviceID txt file to blank, saving it then making sure my UAC was deactivated. I tried again from the beginning and it was a success.
     
  12. Metaz

    Metaz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just ran it through SEUS hoping it'd set back to 1.6, turns out it's 2.1 now. Happy days. :)
     
  13. kalfou

    kalfou Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hey guys i can't seem to get my Device ID, i mean i got it too appear the other day, but now when i want to flash i can't get it again.... I have put in the same codes on "regedit" and done everything by the book, but all that appears after the search is a list of things, but no device ID....

    What am i doing wrong?

    Thanks
     
  14. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Hi.

    Did you use the same usb port?
     
  15. kalfou

    kalfou Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah i used the same USB port 5 times then used a different one another 5 times... i just down't know whats wrong, do you?
     
  16. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Not a clue. Does SEUS find the phone?
     
  17. Turkoes

    Turkoes Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've post on the other thread about the updates, so sorry if it's annoying or not meant to be here...

    My problem is that once I've connected to PC Companion, done Step 1, all ok, done step 2, fine UNTIL, I have to re-start the phone. I hold the back key ultimately at the same time plunging into the phone the USB cable, green-light appears (not sure how long to continue pressing, I've varied it whilst the light goes off I unhold or after 10 sec of seeing the light I then unhold either way, I think I've masted all techniques here) once it start and Companion asks me to tab and mount it wants me to go through the whole process from Step 1!!! Am I doing anything wrong??? I've even used a different SD card
     
  18. jvinhj240

    jvinhj240 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    i have x10a, i did update from SEUS but it still firmware 1.6 . any helps guys..
     
  19. Wisenos

    Wisenos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    23
    who's your carrier?
     
  20. jvinhj240

    jvinhj240 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    At&t.
     
  21. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    Just responded to yuo on another thread, AT&T have not released the upgrade yet and have made now announcement as to if and when they will do so.
     
  22. stevierite

    stevierite Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
  23. Wisenos

    Wisenos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    23
    wait :)
    is your best friend
    i've read several 2.1 updated with nordic or generic uk firmware and having lot of trouble (actually more than branded update)
     

Share This Page

Loading...