Help on How to Prepare Phone to be Returned to Tmobile


Last Updated:

  1. llblwskydrgn

    llblwskydrgn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi everyone,

    I've been having an issue with my headphone jack and finally called into Tmobile tech support.
    They are going to be sending a replacement phone, so I would like some help on how I can get my current phone ready to be sent back to them.

    Currently it is rooted stock 2.1 and has ryanza lag fix applied.
    Most of my files are on the SD.

    I know I need to unroot, how would I proceed to do that and would unrooting get rid of the lag fix?

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. bootsie

    bootsie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    17
    Pretty sure all you have to do is wipe it and reload to factory default
     
  3. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Doesn't the RyanZA's OCLF have an option to unroot the phone? Thought I saw that when I was considering trying it on a new ROM.

    Unrooting won't touch the lag fix. For that you need to flash back to the stock ROM I believe. Not something that would be noticed I expect, so you may not have to bother. Remember to uninstall Superuser though.
     
  4. djquick

    djquick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    23
    Don't say I never did anything for you:p;)

    On your dial pad, push *2767*3855#

    This code is used for factory format. It'll remove all files and settings including the internal memory storage, then it will reinstall the phone firmware back to when you first took it out of the box.
     
    llblwskydrgn likes this.
  5. bootsie

    bootsie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    17
    Except if you flashed it right? I have been toying with the idea of resetting to out of the box state but I am running Eugene ROM.
     
  6. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
  7. TuesdayClub

    TuesdayClub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just wipe/flash back into factory defautl either manually or by code...worked great on my MT3GS.
     
  8. Zylograth

    Zylograth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    the reset code will not remove anything you added via update.zip
     
  9. djquick

    djquick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    23
    The reset code will remove EVERY update. As far as resetting back to stock from the Eugene rom you flashed; that I'm not sure about. Just try it and see. Worse case scenario, flash to stock rom with odin if the code doesn't reset it to stock from Eugene's rom.
     
  10. aksoutherland

    aksoutherland Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would use ODIN to flash back to stock.
     
  11. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    That seems to be the best "when in doubt" solution. Not particularly looking forward to the day I need ODIN, but most seem to think it's not all that bad. I do see a lot of "be patient" and "don't freak out if it looks like nothing's happening" with respect to the program.
     
  12. djquick

    djquick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    23
    Odin is simple to use once you get the hang of it, which is basically just getting it to read your phone on a COMM port.
     
  13. llblwskydrgn

    llblwskydrgn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for all the responses, I will be receiving the replacement phone tomorrow and hopefully all will go well. The replacement is coming right on time because my phone just now randomly restarted itself!
     
  14. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    May your next Vibrant be free of gremlins!
     
  15. llblwskydrgn

    llblwskydrgn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    I hope so! I've been loving this phone so far despite some of the flaws.
    This is my first smartphone, and I have definitely been enjoying the Android experience and community.
     
  16. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Keep us posted of course. I came from a few years of BlackBerry's...there are some things I miss, but overall I'm enjoying Android and my Vibrant.
     
  17. llblwskydrgn

    llblwskydrgn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Alright I got my phone today. It looks good so far, popped my SIM in and everything works well. I'm going to port all my files and apps tonight.
    They included the 2gb SD card which is nice because I'm one of those "idiots" who deleted Avatar without backing it up.

    Does anybody know how to tell if I got a refurbished unit?
     

Share This Page

Loading...