Help phone errors after boot using beta froyoSupport


Last Updated:

  1. popbottlepirate

    popbottlepirate Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    earlier today I ran the beta Froyo update on my galaxy s vibrant in Canada. After I finished it it still said it was running eclair 2.1 so the faq said to go into recovery mode and restore to factory settings. I did that using android sdk on my computer. Then when I rebooted it loads fine but as soon as I drag the sweep glass to unlock screen off it just pops up with a ton of errors that just repeat saying processes failed to load. i.e. android.process.acore has stopped unexpectedly. and the same for a bunch of them and they just repeat.

    I can't seem to load into recovery or download only mode and now I'm afraid I've bricked my phone. can anyone come to my rescue? Thanks for the help in advanced.

    J
     

    Advertisement
  2. melll

    melll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    35
    Sucks to hear that man. Posts like these are the reason why I wont install any beta/alpha OS on my phone.

    I hope you get your phone fixed. Im sure someone here has the knowledge to help you out.

    I am on Bell Canada, got my Vibrant rooted and lag fixed, and thats it.

    Good Luck Man
     
  3. popbottlepirate

    popbottlepirate Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess I just got impatient waiting for the official release. FML.
     
  4. melll

    melll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    35
    It will be coming out by September 30...

    Whats happened to you, has happened to many others on this forum.

    I'd be in a frantic state trying to figure out what to do.

    Theres a fix, just wait for it, someone will help you out.
     
  5. popbottlepirate

    popbottlepirate Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    My problem though is I don't understand how I"ll be a position to load the fix if I can't get into download or recovery mode. I haven't had the phone for thirty days so I might try to bring it back to bestbuy to exchange. or if I sent it to samsung would they be able to fix it?
     
  6. melll

    melll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    35
    Gotta go to the store for exchange. I notice a lot of these Americans call up T-mobile and they get sent a new one...

    Maybe try calling up Bell or whoever you're with first and say your phone just wont boot up etc.

    Theres a trick for the Canadian Vibrants...

    In order to get into recovery you have to press and hold the VOL LEVEL UP and the HOME BUTTON at same time after rebooting the phone, and it may takes a couple tries.

    I read that a few days ago. have you tried to get in recovery that way yet?
     
  7. djquick

    djquick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    23
    Ok, first of all; in order for you to exchange it at best buy, you'll have to revert back to the stock rom, in which I know you're having a problem getting into the recovery mode or download mode. Did you do a nandroid/clockwork mod backup before flashing to the beta rom?

    Secondly, melll: "these americans"??? Dude seriously? Regardless if you meant it as a racial statement or not; for future reference be careful how you word something because someone else might take it the wrong way and go postal on you.......just sayin.
     
  8. melll

    melll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    35
    haha crazy Gringos. Always be shooting first and then asking questions :p

    Nah Im not racists or anything at all like that. I am dual citizen and lived a big part of my life in the US.

    :)
     
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Remember - North America's a big place and some of these words vary in meaning - and temperature - depending on the region and even cultures within a region.

    Also remember - without body language and tone of voice to complete the communication, very often what's intended one way in writing is read in a completely different way. No one's fault - that's just the way it is.

    How about all the posts from here on stay on topic and avoid nationalities and potentially charged terms, ok?
     
  10. melll

    melll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    35
    Update us on if you got your phone fixed popbottlepirate!
     
  11. melll

    melll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    35
    Well, what a coincidence. I rebooted my phone, and tried to get into recovery mode, just to see if I can get access to it, and now my phone wont fully boot.

    I tried accessing recovery mode probably 10-15 times.

    Always reset the phone once I saw it did not go into recovery mode.

    Now, I get past the intro video, and then the big S with Galaxy below it logo, and then the screen goes black as if its going to load up my phone and nothing else happens.

    Just a black screen. WTF. FLM.


    Pressing the HOME button makes the BACK and MENU buttons light up, and thats it. Lights stay on, and black screen still.

    AAAARRGGHHH

    EDIT: Ive done 3 battery pulls, waited 5-10 min between pulls and put battery back in.

    Been doing this for the past 40 minutes...
     
  12. popbottlepirate

    popbottlepirate Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys,

    so far no luck. I had to take the wife to a movie or a would have been back here sooner. I'm trying to reboot into either recovery or download only mode and so far no luck. There has to be a trick to it. I've heard of others having a hell of a time reloading it. I figured since Iwas getting a rom through the kies software it wouldn't FUBAR my phone.
     
  13. melll

    melll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    35
    Well Im through!!!

    I am exchanging this phone tomorrow. I just blew away around 3-4 hours trying to get into recovery mode.

    I have no idea how my phone just bricked itself. Luckily I got the phone 2 weeks ago, and I can just walk in the store and get a new exchange, but damn, gotta spend another 3 hours getting my phone the way it was tomorrow.

    Tomorrow after I get exchange I'll be staying far away from rooting/lag fix stuff.

    No idea how this phone just bricked itself.
     
  14. popbottlepirate

    popbottlepirate Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    well I got mine on the 6th so I'm past the 14 days but maybe if I put up a big stink they will do something about it.
     
  15. djquick

    djquick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    23
    Try this:

    1. Remove SD and SIM card
    2. Remove battery
    3. plug the phone into USB
    4. hold down vol-up and vol-down
    5. pop the battery back in while holding vol buttons

    It's basically trial and error but eventually you should get back into download mode so you can flash back to stock.
     
  16. melll

    melll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    35
    Awesome thread for tips
     
  17. djquick

    djquick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    23
  18. popbottlepirate

    popbottlepirate Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ended up exchanging my phone. The new one boots into download and recovery modes instantly. WTF. My wife has the same phone and hers doesn't. Shouldn't be a problem though she isn't into computers enough to change stuff much.
     

Share This Page

Loading...