Help Please: From 7 to 3General


Last Updated:

  1. Stephanie1981

    Stephanie1981 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 6 year old son got his hands on my phone. When I got it back I found that my screens have shrunk from 7 to 3, the wallpaper was the same but the lockscreen was back to its default, the bottom bar had gone from 3 buttons (add, phone,open apps window) to 1 ugly gray button that just opens the apps window, and all my widget placements went away and instead looked like a default setup. Changing my scenes does nothing. It started asking me how I want to proceed giving me the options of home or htc scenes. This would happen after I backed out of (for instance) my gmail. Then it would back out to a more familiar homescreen, my personal layout. I think I eventually put default "home" and now it's stuck with this 3 screen, stock setup, one ugly gray button on the bottom look. I would like to know how I can revert to at least having my 7 screens back along with the 3 buttons on the bottom (black/shiney instead of gray). I already erased my personal saved htc scene so I will have to remake the widget placements, I am rather sure of. Also, I use the app "Toddler Lock" but only for keeping my son occupied on some occasions. I am trying to find an app that alerts me when it is picked up. I could use the pattern lock but he has been known to make phone calls. Just any app that makes my phone a bit more secure from my sneaky little ninja 6 year old.
     

    Advertisement
  2. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Sounds like Sense was turned off, and now you are working with the base (default) Android OS (operating system). Sense is the customized HTC OS, which is what gives you your 7 screens and the different interface layout.

    Did you restart the phone? If so, was it still like that? There are instructions on here somewhere about "disabling sense" or "turning off sense" so you should be able to find them and use the option to turn Sense back to your default (I don't remember exactly where the option is). But try restarting first...
     
  3. Stephanie1981

    Stephanie1981 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried restarting and it did not work so now I am on the hunt for this HTC sense or scenes or whatnot toggle feature. Thanks.
     
  4. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
  5. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
    from the main screen: Select Menu/settings/Applications/manage applications/ Search through the list for "home" select home and hit the clear defaults button. Click the home soft key and you will be offered Sense or home options. Select sense
     
    jhewit22 likes this.
  6. Stephanie1981

    Stephanie1981 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you!!
     
  7. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
    Stephanie1981 likes this.
  8. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
  9. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    The easiest thing to do is just install home switcher from the market. That way you can then switch quickly and easily between Home and Sense using that app.
     
  10. laurentypo

    laurentypo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    6
    I did this by accident one day, and I freaked out because I thought I lost my 7 screens. My husband figured out how to get the screens back by turning Sense on again. I was so happy! I actually liked the other layout just fine, but it only had 3 screens = downfall.
     
  11. Stephanie1981

    Stephanie1981 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any good reason to ever use the home area over the sense one?
     
  12. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
    Maybe if you wanted to use 10 screens :D. Well you would have to clear your defaults on which ever one you were using so that you could choose every time you hit the home button....I did that for awhile till I got sick of clicking which home I wanted. This is if you wanted to use both.
     
  13. laurentypo

    laurentypo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    6
    I actually thought things worked a little faster with the Home screen, especially when I wanted to look at the applications I've downloaded. Maybe it's just me :)
     
  14. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    You know, you should give Home a chance. It's a preference and I switched to it about two months ago. Have not looked back since. It's very smooth and quick, compared to Sense.

    If you do end up rooting your phone, removing Sense and running just Home will make your phone a hell of a lot faster.


    If you aren't experiencing speed issues, like lagging, then Home may be best to try for looks. But it is faster as most users that have switched can attest to that.
     
  15. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Another friend reports repeated force closing of the Messages app, especially when he switches window modes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...