help please


Last Updated:

  1. dmullins80

    dmullins80 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    i downloaded the andriod sdk and fallowed the directions but i dont know how to open a command propmt. someone please help
     

    Advertisement
  2. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    start>run type cmd <enter>

    you sure root is for you?
     
  3. dmullins80

    dmullins80 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks.... yeah i want to learn it. i have been cramming my brain for about a week figureing this stuff out. thanks again
     
  4. dmullins80

    dmullins80 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    can i open one on my eris. like i said im new. lol.
     
  5. badfrog

    badfrog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    10
    you need to open it in windows, also, when you connect your phone, you want it in sync mode.
     
  6. dmullins80

    dmullins80 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i go to the prompt it says it cant find any thing. i followed the directions. i maybe i typing it in wrong. can you help
     
  7. dandaman96

    dandaman96 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    dmullins... lets cover the basics.

    Have you downloaded, and installed the android SDK?
    Have you installed java?

    If yes, and yes.
    Start-->Run-->cmd

    cd C:\androidSDK (or what ever folder you extracted it to)
    cd tools

    now, with the phone plugged in and debugging turned on (on the phone... Menu--Settings--Applications--Development--USB debugging) type in the cmd window:

    adb shell

    You should get a prompt that looks like:
    $

    Now you're in the phone. From here, you need to know a little bit of linux.

    But, honestly, if you're having trouble finding the dos cmd, you probably have a LOT of learning to do before you can work in your phone w/ root and not screw something up. Take your time, read up, learn and then jump into it.
     
  8. dmullins80

    dmullins80 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Dan. I figures it out. I have now flashed, rooted, and rebooted. Lol. Wasn't as hard as i thought it would be. Thanks again
     

Share This Page

Loading...