HELP!!! Potential Brick.


Last Updated:

  1. SigmundDroid

    SigmundDroid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so heres the situation. I rooted last night, DL LFY and LFY1100 kernel. I installed the kernel and then LFY itself. After trying to reboot it only gets to the custom boot screen and will not launch.

    After 15 minutes I pulled the battery and tried to launch in recovery mode to load my backup. Upon trying to do that it says cannot mount to SD card. I try again and same thing. After failing to mount it goes into the same custom launch screen for LFY but no OS comes up.

    Did I brick my phone? PLEASE HELP!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    you didnt brick it..

    so you tried holding the power + X key to get to into recovery?

    I suspect it is the kernal and you phone may not like that kernel and that speed. this is kind of a symptom of that.
     
  3. SigmundDroid

    SigmundDroid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i have tried reloading a back up, installing the rom over. but it says it cannot mount to my SD card.

    after failing to mount it just goes back into the neverending boot cycle.
     
  4. SigmundDroid

    SigmundDroid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    just tried to wipe data but in the middle of the data wipe it went into the boot process...not having a good feeling about this
     
  5. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    the fact that your booting and, as you said, getting into "the custom boot screen" - but then it just reboots again - tells me your not bricked by any means as if you were, no boot screen would come up.

    however, I have not heard of this error "cannot mount to my SD card" and you might look for the member OMJ here as he is a bit more savvy and might know how to address that error ASAP. he is all over this board, PM him or gmail chat him and ask.

    be sure to keep that battery charged through all of this as that can cause issues as well while in this trouble shooting window.
     
  6. SigmundDroid

    SigmundDroid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    finally got though the data/cache wipe and it gave me the error
    noapp2SD partition found...am i screwed?
     
  7. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    did you try

    Open your phone’s keyboard. Hold down the letter X key on the keyboard and power your phone on while holding this key down. You will see the Motorola logo, followed by a graphic with an ! mark on it. At this time let go of the X key and the power button. Press and hold the Volume + key on the side of your phone, then press the camera button while holding the Volume + key.
     
  8. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    nope... noapp2SD partition is an error that means the SD card is not setup and partitioned to move apps from the phone to the Sd card. don't worry about that as that is a common error thrown.
     
    SigmundDroid likes this.
  9. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Just a note...installing the kernel then the ROM will result in the 1100MHz kernel being over written by the stock (1000MHz) kernel. Just pointing that out

    As for your problem...do you have a good Nandroid backup? If so...

    - Boot into recovery
    - From the main screen, go to the Partition menu.
    - Format the boot, data, cache, and system partitions.
    - Go back to the main screen (power button works like a "back" button)

    Now, you can try to revert to a good backup or you could try to install the ROM again.

    Success?
     
    Crude and SigmundDroid like this.
  10. SigmundDroid

    SigmundDroid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    was able to finally have enough time to initiate an update for UDx8.... installed and am rebooting now...will let ya know
     
  11. SigmundDroid

    SigmundDroid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank god!!!!! success!!!! thank you guys for all your help. Now to prevent me from bu__ fu___ing this up again could you guys give me the correct sequence to go through, properly install UDx8, a kernel capable of overclocking to 8-1.0, and keeping all contacts and apps?

    That would be of great great help.
     
  12. SoDroid

    SoDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    76
    My brother went to college a few weeks ago (Freshman at ASU!!!) and I wrote a brief step by step for him so he could continue flashing roms. This was written fairly personally but it should apply to flashing in general, as long as your using ROM Manager. It is below, let me know if you have any questions. If anyone sees something I should remove or add, please let me know. This starts at the beginning of the process.

    Note: This guide was written for someone that is already proficient at modding. It was written with a minimum understanding of modding in mind. This is not a guide for beginners. Please follow at your own risk.

    Do the Following:
    1) Update all apps first!
    2) Sync bookmarks and save
    3) Back LauncherPro Settings
    4) Backup all user apps and system data using Titanium Backup
    You will create a full system backup just before you flash.

    Ready to flash!

    Using rom manager:
    1) Go to Download ROM
    2) Select the ROM you would like and download it
    3) When the download is complete, you will be prompted to wipe data & cache as well as backup current rom. Check both and proceed.

    Restoring you Files
    Within about 10 minutes, you should have a new ROM loaded. You will be asked to sign into Google, do so. Google will automatically restore the apps you had from the market. This can take up to 15 minutes; phone will run very slow during this time as it is working. Anything that is not restored, use Titanium Backup to restore it. TiBU will also restore data. For example, if you have an app that has multiple accounts with log ins and do not feel like inputting that data, just go to TiBU, go to the app, and hit restore, data only.

    To Restore your Settings and Data

    Go to Titanium Backup - menu button - hit 'batch' - restore all missing apps and system data. Now hit 'deselect all'. Go down the list and check anything in green. Then hit 'run the batch operation' at the top. You may need to reboot after this for all changes to take affect all of your data should now be restored.
     
    thaDroidz, yufice, UBRocked and 2 others like this.
  13. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    glad it worked out.. I knew you were not screwed :) but I have been in your sweating bullets position before
     
  14. SigmundDroid

    SigmundDroid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    i swear this thread has made me a believe in this forum like never before. you guys are awesome.
     
  15. SigmundDroid

    SigmundDroid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    my only question would be someone mentioned needing the goodapps add on in order to sign into your gmail account and sync. how do i go about adding those?
     
  16. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    huh.. no app needed to sign into your google accounts - gmail, calendar, etc - and sync. that is a base level function of the phone

    settings > accounts & sync > check your settings are all on and sync is enabled

    I dont even think that is an android app to being with.
     
  17. SoDroid

    SoDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    76
    You are referring to gapps or google apps. If it is ever an option to download gapps, do it. You will need it. If you are running LFY, I do not believe you have to download it. Are you running LFY?

    Just read through again and it sounds like you are or will be running a UD rom. I have never flashed a UD rom so I do not know if gapps is required. It is based on CM which does require gapps so it probably does. When you download the rom from rom manager, it should ask you if you want to download gapps. Just say 'yes' and that should do it.
     
  18. SigmundDroid

    SigmundDroid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    the last thing i am hitting a problem on is how to actually backup all files using TiBu. I have it loaded but do i really need to backup each app and data piece 1 by 1? that will take forever?
     
  19. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    no 1 by 1.

    settings > "batch" and select "backup all user apps + system data" 4th item
     
    SigmundDroid likes this.
  20. SoDroid

    SoDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    76
    To backup all files with Tibu:
    go to backup/restore - hit the 'options' button on the Droid - hit batch - hit 'backup all user apps and data' - and that should be it.

    Note: I have the paid version, the free version might be slightly different.

    Edit: I should've known Lock-N-Load was on it :)
     
    SigmundDroid likes this.
  21. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    ahhh.. this is some ROM specific issue, but that app is not generally needed
     
  22. SigmundDroid

    SigmundDroid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    any ideas on where i can find a gapps add on to DL? outside of Rom Manager?
     
  23. PARick

    PARick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    3
    Man I was there yesterday! Even went as far as to call Verizon to get a new phone(I sent it back today:)) FWIW it was a Droid I. But, what I learned is that if you get something in the way of screen activity you are ok. I just have to work up enough gall to try some themes!:eek:
     
  24. SigmundDroid

    SigmundDroid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually took the dive because of the thread you started yesterday...so how about you PM me and we keep in touch about some of the things that are working(and clearly not working) for us as we keep exploring
     
  25. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    This is info I sent to someone a few days ago via PM...might be useful here

    And SoDroid...you don't need to use a seperate app for backing up and restoring your texts and call log...TiBu can do it all.


    __________________

    With Titanium Backup...paid version is the way to go...so you didn't waste money...it's worth it.

    To make backups:
    When you open the program press your menu button and go to Batch > Backup all user apps + system data

    To restore backups:
    Go to Batch > Restore missing apps with data

    Do not "Restore all missing apps + all system data"!!! This may work if you are reloading the same ROM and want to restore data but could cause many problems if you restore all system data to different ROMs...make sense?

    Once you restore missing apps with data, from the main screen of TiBu, press "Backup/Restore" (top middle button). From there, you can click on an app and restore the data. For example, click on "[ALARMS] Clock 2.2", then when you see the popup...click "Restore" and select "Data only" (may be the only option...may have multiple options listed). Restoring data only is basically what you need to do from this point.

    You can also use TiBu to move virtually any app to the SD Card. You know how some people talk about having 200+ apps on their phone...TiBu is the reason they are able to do this. I move all of my games to the SD Card. Nothing else...just games. DO NOT move system apps to the sdcard. It will work...but IMO, a bad idea.

    To move an app, from the same screen where you restored the data only for your apps > long press an app you want to move. Long press the app and then you will get a different popup menu. one of the options will be "Move to SD Card". Click it and you're done! :D

    Settings in TiBu: You will want to change the settings in TiBu and verify your settings are all there before you backup or restore anything!

    From the main or "Overview" screen, press your menu button > Preferences (Here are screenshots of how I'm setup).

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Also set the max backup to more than just one. Mine is set to 5. If you have a bad backup, you can revert to another one ;) Or like I often do, I don't restore something like "bookmarks" for the browser and then make a new backup. My latest backup now does not have my bookmarks which would SUCK if I didn't have another backup I could recall. Even if it is a little outdated...better than nothing!
     
    smroark and thaDroidz like this.

Share This Page

Loading...