Help Root 2.1 OTA that has SPRecovery

Last Updated:

1. ilmar72

ilmar72 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Hello,

Im new to this. I just got my droid yesterday, but Im no idiot when it comes to computers. I even did some adb commands for the first time ever late last night.(they mostly failed )

I followed instructions in another thread on how to install sprecovery on a 2.1 OTA phone without rolling it back to 2.0.1 So Right now I have 2.1 OTA phone with SPRecovery.

My question is what do I do next ? Install a custom Rom? I understand there is no way yet to root the 2.1 OTA. ( I found a couple posts on how do so but the update.zips did nothing for me)

IF installing a custom ROM is the answer then can someone help me with that? will it install on my phone that has 2.1 OTA with SPRecover? what is a good ROM? I dont want something thats gonna lessen my GPS as I have read some roms do. Most of all Idont want to Brick my phone.

btw I love this droid and Im excited to be on the android forums:)

Please help.

Advertisement
  2. ilmar72

Also I do have the SU app now. IT however has nothing in it its just black. when I try to run a program which needs su permission nothing happens. SU does not prompt for access

3. CRPercodani

CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

Just install a custom ROM. For SPRecovery I would try maybe Bugless Beast or ChevyNo1's ROM, just get the .zip file and rename it to update then place it on the root of your sdcard and reboot into recovery and choose install update.zip.

ilmar72 likes this.
  4. ilmar72

even though I have ese81?

5. Fabolous

Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

Think of it this way, the recovery and the actual system image are not really connected.

Once you've replaced the stock recovery with SPRecovery (as you have), it doesn't really matter what you have on your system partition (in your case, ESE81), because SPRecovery will let you write over it.