Help solving an annoying issue when sending SMSSupport


Last Updated:

  1. hoppi05

    hoppi05 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, i have recently upgraded from the Hero to the Desire and i am very impressed with it superb phone but i need help with resolving a small and rather annoying issue....

    When sending an SMS you type your msg and click on the little human icon in the top right corner to view your contacts well my Desire is showing my phone, sim, google and Facebook contacts! all i want to see there is my phone contacts there is no option to change the view? and when you click <Groups> it shows <Device Contacts> but shows no contacts although i have lots on my device?

    is this a known issue or have i got settings wrong?

    so far i have had to unsync my FB which i really dont want to do because its great having peoples pictures alongside there numbers and when they ring...

    I have set my phone to only show my phone contacts (in the 'People' settings) not my google or my SIM or my FB!

    still after all the above i now get my duplicates because the phone still shows my phone and SIM contacts WAY lol?

    I cannot delete my SIM contacts as i need them on there! surely this is a bug of some sorts? because i have checked every setting i can find to stop it....

    you would have thought there would have been an option in menu to let the end user select which contacts to view? i only want to view phone contacts and the only was it to do this it seems is to disable some of the very good features this phone has....

    Can anyone help please

    cheers
     

    Advertisement
  2. Sypher

    Sypher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    If your sending to just one person, you could go through people which can be customised to show just sim, phone or facebook, or any combo of the three.

    Or you could try the Handcent app which is free and doesn't suffer from this problem.
     
  3. hoppi05

    hoppi05 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sypher cheers for the reply i have spoke to HTC and they say its a known issue which should be getting fixed in a patch???

    when you say you can customise things where is that option? as the only option within SMS i can see is to set ppl up into groups like office and friends and things? the main options in 'People' which allows you to unselect phone, sim, google and facebook or vice verser does not work in conjunction with the SMS app? or have i missed an option somewhere

    Well i have flattened the phone since earlier and i have tried Handcent and this also suffers from the same issue?? it still shows SIM and Phone contacts even tho i have SIM unselected in the 'People' form options? and i do not want to sign back into my facebook because if it sync's that up again ill scream lol the only option i have selected is to view phone contacts and i still see sim contacts in SMS in the People app it works i only see Phone contacts and not SIM but this does not happen in the SMS address box?

    any further help would be appreciated...

    ps sorry for rattling on.....
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    One way to fix it is to make all your contacts google type, then delete the phone and sim contacts as they are not required.
     
  5. AeroSign

    AeroSign Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    36
    Hey,
    Hoppie05 I am so glad I found your post. You are describing my problem exactly - though I am using a HTC Wildfire.

    It's been almost 2 month since your question and I think t eHTC patch will take some time still. Does anyone know of a possible solution now? I don't mind paying for third party SMS app if that will solve the issue....

    /Aerosign
     
  6. hoppi05

    hoppi05 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey there, i did not get a proper fix for this what i did was reinstall the rom i was using and then never sync'd my facebook up again lol. using handcent sms did not help that also showed the same contacts....

    i think someone above stated to sync you contacts to google and just use those could work that is what i have done ever since and its been fine although i have never sync'd FB up again and do not want to risk it ;)

    hopefully this will be resolved in 2.2 ut in the versions i have tried this still happens!

    :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...