help to chose Samsung Galaxy vs. HTC HeroGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    hi all
    i know Samsung Galaxy is coming out on monday or tuesday on O2 UK,so now when its so close to uk customers i want all of you help me and us decide which Android phone shoul I or WE go for?im very confused at this moment as for me its still unclear how much RAM Galaxy has and whether or not it would be slower or faster than HTC Hero? other thing is Sense UI that Hero has which looks amazing so question for developers or general programmers will it be possible to port it to Galaxy as i think the only differences are presence of Flash LED on Galaxy camera and D-Pad instead of Track ball on Hero. and one more thing how much future proof will both phones are in your opinion as im going to get 18month contract anyway so i dont want to regret in couple of weeks.thank you all for reviews and support on this forum for new and existant android fans.fell free to express your opinions
    thanx
     

    Advertisement
  2. damuffinman

    damuffinman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    13
    Both phones are specced evenly - same processor, the same amount of ram (according to i7500 world), 3.5mm headphone jack, etc...

    The few differences is that the i7500 has 8GB of storage of which you can place your apps on compared to HTC Hero's 512MB of storage (since I'm assuming Sense UI can be ported). Then there's the chin; you either love it or hate it. And the flash for photos, which will come in handy when you take snapshots of others in dark lighting conditions.

    To be fair I think these 3 things make the i7500 a better deal than the Hero. Granted some others may have had poor experiences with Samsung (I wouldn't know, since I've always used a Nokia), so they might opt for the HTC Hero, but I wouldn't.
     
  3. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
  4. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25

    hi
    thanx guys for reply. just wonder if you can feel this lack of RAM and how much does it affect the flowlines of the Android?i mean do you experience no lag at all as some said by inserting microSD 6th class and factory reseting?is this true? does it feel that Hero is faster or not as much faster than Galaxy?thanx again guys
     
  5. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Read page 7 of that thread. I answered all these same questions everyone has!

    In short..

    It doesnt affect android at all. Its only the number of widgets you can run at a time. Even then android closes them for you. In reality you can't run too many wigets on android anyway because it will kill you're battery with all that syncing!

    I find you install loads of widgets and enable/disable them as and when you need different functions.

    I don't experiance any lag myself.

    At times the Hero feels faster, at times the samsung. I noticed that after u reboot, you need to wait a few minutes for everything to load and processes to go idle. Then they are almost identical in their speed.

    The major advanatge of the Hero is the RAM and so their UI. I don't think running their UI on samsung would work too well.
     
  6. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    kam187 great review,actually stunning review coz you have both phones and you like noone can see and tell us the differences.thanx again mate i gues theres not much left to think and ill go for samsung even if its not supported by XDA developers and maybe we wont see so many improvements like Hero but still i think AMOLED and Flash thats all the hero lack makes me think Samsung is the way to go for me.just will have to decide either to buy it from germany for like 315 pounds sim free or to wait few days and get froo O2 UK contrack which with "unlimited" data doesnt sound good as by fair use it allows only 200mg a month which is ridiculous on these phones
    thanx again
     
  7. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    They have the mock units in O2 stores now. The release date is anywhere from 10th to 14th - every time u call u get a new date lol

    Its not long now, so you might as well go into a store and have a looka t it for yourself :)

    Just DONT update it when you get it, the new firmware has issues. Although I'm hearing they pulled that update now.

    Oh btw RE O2, people are saying if you're on contract they don't bother you too much about the limit, its only on pay as you go they are really strict. Also as on all networks if you use most of your data on 3g and not GPRS they are alot more tolerant too.

    Of course they might just get pissy whenever they feel like it :p
     
  8. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    yeah ive seen the moch at O2 last week in Luton and it look pretty good and seen Hero as well in Orange dont know why but i seem to not like the chin,lol. thanx for info about contract and firmware. dont know what would we do without you on this forum,lol. what i ment i appreciate all help mate.by the way if i get it on O2 with contract is it possible to make Skype cals only using the internet bandwidth? is there a skypy app on Android market?have you tried it? or would it be better to buy pay monthly sim only from Tmobile with 1GB a month cap?or from 3?which says something about free skype to skype calls
    thanx again mate
     
  9. Vap1d-

    Vap1d- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. lutin

    lutin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Where can you get it for 315 pounds?

    I'd definitely be interested in this.
    I am currently on o2 simplicity for 15 pounds a month. I might try to buy the samsung sim-free and then change to a contract with 3. They currently have a
     
  11. Vap1d-

    Vap1d- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keep any eye on ebay worldwide. I saw one yesterday for under 315 pounds shipped but was slow on the buy it now and missed it. I picked one up today tho!
     
  12. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Most networks don't like streaming. You can do a little bit but they get pissy pretty quickly. If you stick to 3g they care less, but at any time they could point to the terms and pester you.

    3g do a prepay tariff now with
     
  13. Millo

    Millo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this the same update which broke the Galaxy's compass?
    Does the compass work properly now, does anyone know?

    UPDATE: Samsung Galaxy Compass :Mobilizy
     
  14. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    There's only been one update from samsung, and its now been pulled so doesnt show up in PC Suite anymore - so yeah it must be the same one.
     
  15. Millo

    Millo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cant be sure if the update broke the compass or if it has always been broken. Can anyone let me know if the compass on the Galaxy works correctly when it is tilted above the horizon...

    I heard apps such as Sky map do not work correctly on the galaxy as when you tilt the phone towards the sky the compass "flips" 180 degrees.
     
  16. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Hmm google sky works fine here
     
  17. mrdagz

    mrdagz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    as far as i can tell from what i have read, the HTC is more advanced and the UI is amazing and is better than the IPhone's!

    It is let down by the fact that the UI is very resource hungary, so the phone runs slow, not totaly sure how bad the problem is but i have been given the impression it a deal braker.

    the Samsung is much more basic but the hardware can run the basic os as well as any other android phone on the market and I think it looks better, i disliked the G1/Dream, the Magic was better but on in white in the UK.

    so i am waiting to compare them on price, the Hero is free on a
     
  18. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    The Samsung has a AMOLED screen - uses less power, Hero doesnt. - Samsung Wins

    The samsung has a 1500mAh battery, the Hero has a 1350mAh battery - Samsung Wins

    Both Hero and Samsung run on the same hardware platform, both running at 528Mhz - No winner!

    Samsung has a slightly better camera, and a flash. Hero has no flash - Samsung Wins

    Hero has 288mb ram, Samsung has 192mb - Hero wins

    Hero: 112 x 56.2 x 14.4 mm (plus chin too :-/)
    Samsung: 115 x 56 x 11.9 mm
    - Samsung wins

    Hero has Rosie UI, samsung has stock UI - depends..

    Really its not accurate to say the Samsung is more basic, in fact it has better specs. Its only the memory that is a problem. Because the lower ammount of memory its probably not possible to copy the Hero UI over to the samsung :(

    If only the samsung had 288mb ram it would have won hands down.
     
  19. mrdagz

    mrdagz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hero also has multi touch which is nice, but as long as i can view any web site i want as i can on my Ipod Touch then i am happy.

    when i said basic i meant it had the Stick UI not HTC own which is supposed to be very good. but that slows the phone down a lot so it depends if you want that or just the stock UI and third party add-ons.

    as i said it's all down to price at the moment as i am happy with the Stock UI as long as the phone works well over all.
     
  20. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    ahh ok :)

    Google disabled multitouch in android (troubles with apple) so you can't enable it like you used to be able to on the older android phones. But it will be back in the next android build.

    The Hero uses its own implementation. So just be patient and we should have it on the samsung too!
     
  21. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    as i started this thread about chosing galaxy or hero i decided to go for galaxy and guess what. yesterday i became one of these lucky ones and i got my galaxy now :) hehe im soooo happy it looks amazing and fast compared to my nokia n73 by the way i bought it from ebay.de for 350 euros plus postage to UK for 22 euros so all in all about 325pounds which is a bargain and with warranty and everything.and the seller was very good communicative and fast won by bidding on monday and thursday i received it :) hehe. so as the phone itself is very good and everything excellent im still learnin how to use it and if any of you wants reviews or videos of some apps running on it ask me and i can make some videos on my HD cam ok? no probs, just one question how to install app on galaxy as i run windows 7 and ive got loads of apps downloaded from net (apk) files and i want to put them on my galaxy so could anyone explain how to do it.by the way where can i find compass?,lol.anything you want me to try let me know by the way its completely new and not rooted or anything and the firmware is old (huh lucky)
    thanx for everyones support
     
  22. qqtba

    qqtba Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
  23. cruz

    cruz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, can I ask what seller you bought this from on ebay.de (if he's selling many of these that is)? That sounds like a great price, and I may go down this route, especially if o2 don't pull their finger out and finally release it next week.

    The fact that this seller was quick and had good commnication is excellent - just what I would be looking for if i was to buy from a foreign country.
     
  24. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    the seller had it from O2 (germany) upgrade so she decided to sell it and didnt even remove from the box or anything. and she was offering with PAYPAl (dont think you should buy from anyone who doesnt offer paypal) so i asked if she could sell to UK and she agreed and told the price and apparently i won the bidding. but the auctions i tried before were somehow dodgy even though they were selling to UK and with paypal and good feedback there were majority of bids placed by people with 0 or 1 feedback so i the prices gone ridiculously fast and most of them above or just up to 399 euros. but the one i won all bidders where with good feedbacks. so good luck

    by the way wanted to thank KAM187 for all the support and knowledge shared with us. keep it up man
     
  25. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Thanks :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...