Help, trying to understand my phone


Last Updated:

  1. sithterror

    sithterror Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    **originally posted this in the HTC Sprint forum and felt i might be better served in this forum**

    I was hoping to find info on how to update my Hero, sprint, as i have had it stock since Jan 2010. i ahve read a few posts from "all things root" and this forum but am still 'mystified' so to say about everything over all.
    Model #= HTC Hero
    Firmware= 1.5
    Baseband= 1.04.01.09.21
    kernel ver.= 2.6.27-533ce29d htc-kernel
    build #= 1.56.651.2 CL85027 release keys
    software= 1.56.651.2
    hardware= 0002

    now i dont know what this all means except i think it is telling me that i am on sprint ver. 1.56.x but there is a 2.xx build out for update??!

    is this phone rootable? it is stock to my knowledge asi havent had anything done to it since i got it in my posession from a carrier dealer.

    settings> system updates> i only have firmware/update profile/update PRL..........why dont i have a htc update OS type function?

    i dont want the update from sprint that will deny 'rooting' my phone and am happy with the apps i am running (easytether espec.).......
    --so is there an update to get me better functionality, from sprint, without losing 'root' ability?
    --is there a non-sprint OS version to get (is that the whole root thing) that is safe but doesnt gimp the phone??

    Thanks for helping me understand this and advice to give!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    yes your phone is rootable.
    there is a Sprint update, but you have to download it. yes it will take away your root ability (there are ways around that though)

    the best thing you could do is root the phone as is. then flash one of the 2.1 ROMs such as Fresh 2.1.2. it was built using the Sprint ROM but has all the Sprint apps removed and includes wireless tether (makes your phone a wifi hotspot) there are a lot of other custom ROMs you can try, just make sure they are for the Sprint CDMA Hero. if you try a ROM made for a GSM phone you will quickly end up with an expensive paperweight For a complete list of all Sprint CDMA Hero ROMs, check teh sticky at the top of this forum for custom ROMs
     
    sithterror likes this.
  3. sithterror

    sithterror Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was just in the xdadeveloper-wiki looking at all the ones for 1.5 and 2.1. i mean 20 different builds for 2.1 alone but am finding it hard to discern what makes them special, which ones can be trusted and such.

    i like the way the phone functions now, BUT if i were to go forward and root a 2.1 which one would give me near similiarity to the 1.5 operation? kinda like familiarity rather than learning a whole new OS UI!
    The fresh 2.1.2 would give me this, to a degree? recommending it, do you trust it?
    i do appreciate the tip on cdma vs. gsm as i would have prolly overlooked that until it was to late :p
     
  4. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Personally, I have always used Fresh. I have tried others, and keep coming back to it.

    If you want a 2.1 ROM, I recommend Fresh 2.1.2. It works well and I haven't had any issues.
     
    sithterror likes this.
  5. sithterror

    sithterror Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TYVM for being candid.

    BTW, love the avatar pic
     
  6. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    118
    Just Root it and start trying them out. Really it's all about personal preference. The OS from 1.5 to 2.1 won't feel foreign at all. The differences are not that huge. It's not like going from Windows to MacOs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...