Help! Update fail!


Last Updated:

  1. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    "Main version is older"
    "Update Fail"
    "Do you want to reboot device?"

    I got that message after loading the PC36IMG.zip.
    It then asks if I want to reboot!! I am thinking no at this point....what to do??? Everything has gone smoothly up to this point!!!

    Suggestions???!!!!...reboot or not??!!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    Reboot and find the new image I saw a link floating around here today.If u are using Simple Root start the whole process over.
     
  3. laredo7mm

    laredo7mm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    77
    What method are you using to root? Simple Root?
     
  4. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
  5. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    NYC, that is the method I am using. I am stock 2.2 OTA trying to root using that method. When I get to the point of going back into the bootloader and then loading the PC36IMG.zip it comes back with the message above. I have gone thru the process twice now. And everything goes perfectly smoothly up until that point. I may try to re download that file from a more trusted source and start all over....I don't know really. I think I am done with it for today. I have wasted all afternoon so far and got nowhere although may have learned a little bit in the process...not sure what....haha. My phone is fine so that is all I care about at the moment. The one small hiccup I did see was both times I had to type "reboot bootloader" twice....???? Who knows. I will start all over on a different computer and download only from XDA.
     
  6. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    You are only supposed to update once then press no when it reads the PC36IMG.zip again. Afterwards, you move onto the bootloader portion.
     
  7. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    You already lost me....when do you "update"???
    I think you may have misunderstood what I was trying to say. When still in the command prompt and you type "reboot bootloader" it took me 2 times to get that to take.. I doubt it has anything to do with it but just thought I would mention it for somebody more familiar.
     

Share This Page

Loading...