Help Updating Hero to 2.1


Last Updated:

  1. jeessiicaaa

    jeessiicaaa Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not really good at this kind of stuff but I really want the 2.1 update, and I went to the website to download it. I downloaded the HTC Sync manager, and then I tried downloading the actual upgrade but it doesn't work. Where's the exact website to download the update? Because I used the one right off of sprints website. The one that I tried was an .exe file, which the HTC sync doesn't accept.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Hemlox

    Hemlox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    10
    Are you on a Mac?
     
  3. ronbien

    ronbien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    47
    Jessica,
    Don't use Sync to install it. The update needs the drivers from Sync to find and communicate with the phone. After HTC Sync is installed on your system, just double click on the file you downloaded. It will install itself if it finds your phone and if the download was complete.
    Good Luck!
     
  4. jeessiicaaa

    jeessiicaaa Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, dell inspiron. I have Vista
     
  5. jeessiicaaa

    jeessiicaaa Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do i have to sync my phone to the computer? Or should I not do that?
     
  6. Hemlox

    Hemlox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    10
    No dont sync it, just connect it.
     
  7. SilHero

    SilHero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    u dont have to sync it to your computer via HTCSync...u can just backup your contacts to your gmail account.

    after u backup your contacts, connect your phone to your comp.

    click HTCSync on your phone...it will connect to your comp.

    once the window opens on your comp, close it.

    now find the "HTC_Sprint_Hero_MR_2.27.651.5.exe" (this is what my file is called that i downloaded, others might b different) application on your computer and run it.

    it should bring up some windows to guide you through the process...I HOPE THIS HELPS :/
     
  8. ronbien

    ronbien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    47
    If you have your contacts (people) backup up another way, it is not required.
    The upgrade will erase everything from your phone. Make sure you have a list of all apps and your contacts and calendar and enything else you need backed up.
    Sync is not required to do the upgrade, just the drivers.

    Good Luck!
     
  9. jeessiicaaa

    jeessiicaaa Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, thank you! I'll try again later when I get the chance, I hope it works! :)
     
  10. sisspc

    sisspc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hey Jeess, you know the file from Sprint is a zip file, right? I'm on Vista also and didn't realize until last night that I didn't have a utility to up-zip the file. I downloaded WinZip (free version) and was finished with the 2.1 update in less than 10 minues. If you don't know, you may want to check and be sure you have WinZip or something equivalent. I know it sounds simple, but if you're not tech inclined it's something to check.
     
  11. jeessiicaaa

    jeessiicaaa Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded tinyzip to zip the file but when I went to do that and went to my downloads file, where the update file is, nothing shows up. Soo confused. :/
     
  12. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    9

    One person says don't sync, one person says sync. OMG. This really, really should not be this difficult. I have spent 3 hrs. yesterday and 2 today just trying to get this stupid upgrade. Still not successful. :mad:
     
  13. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    9
    Unbelievable.... I got into the wizard for the upgrade and it says there is a USB Connection problem. WTF?? USB works fine. I just 20 mins ago transferred some pictures from my phone to my laptop.
     
  14. Eaglesfan9106

    Eaglesfan9106 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    14
    Listen all u need is to have HTC sync on ur comp that's it no need to use it just down load the actual update double click on the file in the folder that appears when download completes then plug ur phone in and go from there just make sure it phones charged hope this helps
     

Share This Page

Loading...