HELP! USB won't mountSupport


Last Updated:

  1. truckie453

    truckie453 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    Hopefully someone can help me. I have a nonrooted basic droid (i know boring). It is running 2.1 - update 1. until today I was able to mount my USB without a problem, not when I choose mount, the "droid" sound plays and the USB unmounts itself... Any thoughts?

    thanks in advance...
     

    Advertisement
  2. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    119
    So does it mount at all? If it does, does it unmount right after?
     
  3. truckie453

    truckie453 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I pull down the notification screen and choose mount. the notification immediately reads "turn off usb storage" and the "droid" plays. that's it...
     
  4. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    119
    If it says "turn off usb storage" then that means that it is already mounted.
     
  5. truckie453

    truckie453 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    First, thanks for the help... :)

    I'm sorry, it says that in the notification bar and then it unmounts itself. I cannot open the "drive" on my PC... (sorry I wasn't clearer)

    I tried to D/L new drivers from motorola with not change...

    I get the please insert disk into drive H: message...
     
  6. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    119
    Hmmm...

    There may be something wrong with the usb cable.

    You could try doing a hard reboot (power device off and take out the battery). Maybe that'll help.
     
  7. truckie453

    truckie453 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    hard reboot did nothing... The droid is charging so I don't think it is the cable... I removed the USB and copied it's contents on to my laptop using a card reader. Other than the USB connection the droid seems to function like normal. Do you think it is a 2.1 thing? I recently received an OTA update (I noticed that I could two finger zoom in the browser...)
     
  8. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    119
    It should not be the 2.1 update.

    Try downloading MountUSB app.
     
  9. truckie453

    truckie453 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, now the droid seems to be fighting itself, mounting and unmounting the USB. This is crazy...
     
  10. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    119
    Wow!!! Really?

    That is most definitely odd.

    You could try doing a factory reset.

    That's about the only other suggestion I've got.
     
  11. truckie453

    truckie453 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    would that erase all my contacts etc?

    How do I do that?

    and finally, thanks for trying to help...:D
     
  12. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    119
    As long as you've synced your contacts/calendar with your gmail account you will be able to retrieve them.

    Your apps and phone settings, though, will be taken off the phone. You will have to re-install them. If you have an app backup app then you'll have no problem installing the apps again.

    To do that you will go to :
    Settings > SD card & storage > Factory data reset

    I would make doing a reset your last possible option.

    Give it another day or so for someone more knowledgable to try and provide you with an answer.

    No problem ;)
     
  13. truckie453

    truckie453 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to mount the droid on my office computer that is running XP and it works. It looks like this might be a vista thing...
     
  14. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    I have Vista at home and I've never experienced this problem.
     
  15. Thomas184

    Thomas184 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have Vista 32 bit or 64 bit, I'm running 64 bit and I can't mount my phone either. but my other two computers that run WIN7 and windows XP does not give me a problem.
     
  16. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    Mine's 32-bit.
     
  17. shizco

    shizco Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed auto mount, and now I can only see one drive. I can't see the internal storage on my Droid Incredible.
    Previously my pc would recognize the drives, but ask to insert a cd. I still have absolutely nothing in notifications no matter what I do with the connect to pc options in settings. Auto mount looks to be my short answer, but still looking for a long answer.
     
  18. truckie453

    truckie453 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    64 bit Vista on the laptop that was giving me the problem... the office XP works fine.
     
  19. tsunamikitsune

    tsunamikitsune Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm having a similar problem. When I plug the USB cable in, I get the "USB connected" message in the notifications area. When I press it and then press Mount, this is what I see in the notifications bar:

    -Turn off USB Storage (connected sound on phone, but not on computer as usual)
    -Preparing SD Card
    -USB Connected

    It doesn't seem to mount at any point and just goes back to the original "USB connected" notice. I've been able to mount before this and I've tried removing the battery and everything, but no progress. I don't think I've done much more than install a few apps since I last mounted, but could they have affected something? I think I may restore an older image of my ROM and see if that helps, but I thought I'd ask here first if it'll save me the trouble.
     

Share This Page

Loading...