Help with Froyo on Milestone (Dexter)

Last Updated:

1. Davelosm

Davelosm Member This Topic's Starter

I've decided to have a go at Dexters motofrenzy mod.
    Quite frankly motorola have been useless up to now getting updates to us, and I'd be surprised if 2.2 happens this year.

So, I'm still pretty new to this stuff but i've seen what dexters mod can do and how well it works.

I'm just a bit confused as to how to get this done, open recovery, and nandroid, as I've never used them before.

Can anyone give me a quick pointer? I've had a look around but didn't find anything that helped.

Thanks in advace.
    Dave

Advertisement
  2. GlitchZero

GlitchZero Well-Known Member

Use Cyanogen6 for Milestone instead! It's better. :p

This is the abridged version..I will expand later once I get more sleep.

Step 1, root your phone.

Step 2, download OpenRecovery. (GOTs or ClockWorkMods or something) once it's downloaded, put the rar or zip or whatever it is on your sdcard and unpack it. Put your Nandroid backup (Dexters, CM6, whatever) into the nandroid folder.

Step 3, boot up the phone in Recovery mode. Hold the camera button down while the phone powers up. Once you get the triangle on the screen, press the camera button and volume up button at the same time.

Step 4. Apply update.zip

Step 5. Hit Nandroid Menu / Nandroid Restore, pick your ROM, and watch the magic. ;)

3. Davelosm

Sweet, that sounds simple enough.

Do I not have to do anything with nandroid first? Just put open recovery on sdcard, and when unpacked there will be a nandroid folder to put the mod in? Is that correct?

As a side note, I haven't looked into cyanogen 6, I didn't think it was available for Milestone, since it is, what makes it better than Dexters?

Thanks for your help. Saved me lots of time already.

Edit: AND, should I wipe data/everything before doing this? Or at what stage should I?