Help with KiesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. rebel

    rebel Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi all
    Anybody know how to get Kies working with the galaxy portal
    I got it from Samsung yesterday as its now released for the portal, but it did not work, just like the pc suite that came with the phone

    Cheers
     

    Advertisement
  2. andy-roid

    andy-roid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    52
    i have been on the kies website and it says that the phone is not supported yet
     
  3. rebel

    rebel Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hmmm
    I went to my samsung and its showing Kies as the pc software
    [​IMG]
    took this pic from my page maybe I'm wrong ?
    Chhers
    Reb
     
  4. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    166
    That's a very recent change that kies supports the Spica/Portal.

    This must mean the official v2.1 is close, as a samsung rep reported on a blog I read that the update will be delivered and installed via Kies.
     
  5. rebel

    rebel Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah if I can get my mobile to work on it :(
    anybody had luck with this that can shed some light on it ?

    thanks
     
  6. andy-roid

    andy-roid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    52
    was this all ready on your phone
     
  7. Gurdeep.Singh.Mander

    Gurdeep.Singh.Mander Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ya! Just installed Kies. Phone got detected fine. Everything working as it should. Phonebook gets synced, media transfer etc. everything ok. Doesn't yet allow f/w upgrade though.
     
  8. prodikey

    prodikey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    samsung claims only support Omnia at this moments of time.
     
  9. rusky

    rusky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
    I've downloadd it even if it's just so I can sync my phonebook!
     
  10. Gurdeep.Singh.Mander

    Gurdeep.Singh.Mander Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    For all those who are having trouble recognizing their phone from Kies/NPS/adb...

    Unplug your phone from USB and do the following...

    If you are on android 1.5 (cupcake) version:
    -- Go to... Main Menu >> Settings >> About Phone >> Additional Settings >> (here, make sure "Mass storage only" is unchecked. Make it unchecked if it is not.)

    If you are on android 2.1 (eclair) version:
    -- Go to... Main Menu >> Settings >> Applications >> Development >> (here, make sure "USB debugging" is checked. Make it checked if it is not.)

    That's it! Plug-in your phone again and your device should get recognized fine.

    Hope this helps!

    Update:

    -- Just published screenshot and all that at my blog here http://voxigee.wordpress.com/2010/03/07/samsung-kies-for-galaxy-spica/
    -- Tried it with one of v2.1 (Eclair) ROM and working fine, couldn't yet get it to work with v1.5 (cupcake) though.
     
  11. rusky

    rusky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
    Didn't work on mine :confused:

    Well, it tells me that the device isn't supported.
     
  12. andy-roid

    andy-roid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    52
  13. rusky

    rusky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
    No, but it's the same version.
     
  14. andy-roid

    andy-roid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    52

    thats daft because why dose it tell you to download it for the galaxy lite on there web site
     
  15. rusky

    rusky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gurdeep.Singh.Mander says he has sync'd with this version, I can't:confused:
     
  16. svkndv

    svkndv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    I followed the instructions of gurdeep still no luck, kies is not able to detect my device. Getting an infinite message "Connecting to device... please wait"

    Samsung might be good in their hardware but they are utter failure in software, Take PC studio or Kies both does not have even a professional appearance. Seems to be a software developed by interns under the guidance of a first time product manager :)
     
  17. Gurdeep.Singh.Mander

    Gurdeep.Singh.Mander Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    @svkndv

    Please try switching your usb ports while connecting and also keep scanning for hardware changes from the Device Manager. Sometimes the Serial ports acquired by samsung drivers are not refreshed automatically. Wish u luck :)
     
  18. Orfeas91

    Orfeas91 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all, Kies is working fine for me as well. Flashed to 2.1 (i570EXXJC3) today and I managed to sync my phone when I enabled USB debugging just like Gurdeep.Singh.Mander said. When I had 1.5 it didn't sync.
     
  19. rebel

    rebel Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    I also get that message, tried switching ports around they are refreshing but no joy. I have left a service request at Samsung.
     
  20. andy-roid

    andy-roid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    52
    it looks like to me like there some thing wrong with the driver
     
  21. andy-roid

    andy-roid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    52
    there is some thing wrong because it will only connect in mass strage mode but mass storage mode is offf so i took the sd card out and now its telling me to put in the sd card
     
  22. andy-roid

    andy-roid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    52
    been trying for 4 hours and still no joy so i give up has it got some thing to do with it being on t mobile
     
  23. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    166
    No.

    If you're running vista, make sure the drivers have been installed correctly and windows sees the phone correctly.

    If you have NPS loaded, close it
     
  24. andy-roid

    andy-roid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    52
    i installed it on my daugters xp laptop and it could only find mass strorage mode but it was turned off
     
  25. andy-roid

    andy-roid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    52
    has any body got it to work with 1.5 yet if you have how did you do it
     

Share This Page

Loading...