Help with my rooted X10 (well was rooted)


Last Updated:

  1. morpheus2n2

    morpheus2n2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    I rooted my x10 as I wanted the extra speed and the better battery life, all went fine (well I thought it did) anyways my phone said I had 023 so I was happy as im not a dev and use my phone manly as a phone so all the extra access didn't bother me!!
    Anyways my parnet got the same phone on my contract (additanal line) 5 days after me, I left that one alone as I found out the my network (T-Mobile UK) where about to push the update out for 023, so I updated her phone via SEUS all went perfect, I noticed she got better battery life out of it than me and it seem to respond quicker. SO I wanted to unroot mine but was unable to find a guide, I in the end forced SEUS to repair my phone this took it back to 016 then it let me update over the network to 023 fine did that. But I have since noticed that her phone has an app called "Creatouch" and mine dosn't I also found that mine has 6 diffrent keyborads installed and she has 2. any ideas why this is, did I get my phone upgraded to the wrong local or something do you know how I can revert it back to the bog standerd firmware that it started with so I can update properly???
     

    Advertisement
  2. theXeffect

    theXeffect Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    go to xda n look ....it should be there...
     
  3. morpheus2n2

    morpheus2n2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    Tryed that theres no clear cut guide on this and being new to droid I don't want to take any chances lol
     
  4. TheManWithAPlan

    TheManWithAPlan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    19
    Maybe just try a factory data reset?
     
  5. morpheus2n2

    morpheus2n2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah did that from what I can tell after some looking around is its flashed my phone with a US rom set not a UK one as my playnow tells me its unavalible in my country??? yet the PHone stats its a X10i so im a little confused lol
     
  6. powerkiter

    powerkiter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    106
  7. frankbonatelli

    frankbonatelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    30
    You already have access to the proper rom/firmware from the second phone mentioned in the post. It is quit simple to do if you A) have separate computers. Copy the good firmware to your PC and after a couple of simple steps you should be on the same firmware.
    ===============================
    Step one find files on her pc.
    If you used Sony Update Service look here
    C:\Program Files\Sony Ericsson\Update Service\db\13740270\blob_fs

    If you used Sony Ericsson PC Companion 2.0 look here
    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Sony Ericsson\SEMC OMSI Module\db\13740270\blob_fs
    It depends on which service you used to update her phone as to were you will find the files needed.

    Step two copy files to thumb drive.
    In either blob_fs folder look for two files that are similar to this here.
    FILE_277298674_1277133235000_1269331994000_277298672_16722294_INFILE_LONGTERM
    Its the end word you are looking for "LONGTERM"
    They will be one that is 135,000KB in size +/- and one that is 16,233KB +/- in size.
    Copy these to a thumb drive and head to your PC.

    There may be two other files there ending in "LONGTERM" but we only need the ones that are close to the sizes listed above.

    Step three
    Now find ,on your PC, the blob_fs folder that you have already used to update your phone. Find the two files ending with the word "LONGTERM". Match the sizes of the files to the ones you copied from hers. Copy these two and save in a separate folder as backup.
    Now what you need to do is rename the new files from her PC to the same as those found on your PC.
    IE
    LONGTERM-from-herPC-135,000+/- named the same as the LONGTERM-from-yourPC-135,000+/-
    copy these newly renamed files to your blob_fs folder and overwrite originals. If windows dose not ask you "do you want to replace existing files with new ones" you have not named them correctly. They must be exactly the same in name.

    Step four
    After this has been done use the same Sony software when you attempted the first update to your phone. It will tell you there are no new updates do you want to restore, yes will be you answer here. The software will look in that blob_fs folder see that it has the latest firmware already and skip the download step. If it starts downloading a firmware you have not placed these files in the right folder or you have not named them properly. If this happens I would recommend letting it happen then try again with the above listed steps starting from step three.
    ----------
    Good luck
     
    Bexy and morpheus2n2 like this.
  8. morpheus2n2

    morpheus2n2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sweet thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...