Help with Recovery Please!


Last Updated:

  1. Bankswood

    Bankswood Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    82
    Well I finally screwed around with my phone untill I messed it up. I rooted yesterday with Visionary. No problem then deodexed no problem. Well I have evidently rebooted and wiped the usr data and done a factory reset. However it says I'm still rooted. It seems like I'm half rooted. How do I get this baby back to fully rooted.
     

    Advertisement
  2. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    320
    flash sbf since your not sure what you may have done or undone ....here are links with instructions..Droid X 2.2 Full SBF leaked - Download now
    its really simple and fast ....dont forget to make a backup using titanium first though so you dont lose all your apps
     
  3. Bankswood

    Bankswood Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    82
    Wow. SBF 2.2 download will take over an hour with high speed cable. Does that seem right. Is the file that large?
     
  4. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
    its like 400 MB
     
  5. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    320
    I believe its 434 mb
     
  6. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    320
    @tom ....i know this is a different topic for this thread but can you maybe point me in the right direction to learn the difference between adb push and adb install ...they sound like the do the same to me but im trying to learn and cant get a definate answer
     
  7. charlesbeebe

    charlesbeebe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    Why would he need to do a full sbf. Its unnecessary if all you did was a factory reset. Go into the market and download busybox and superuser. Install them both and you will have full root functionality again. Or if you had everything backed up with titanium just install them through titanium.
     
    gmenfan83 likes this.
  8. Bankswood

    Bankswood Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    82
    I have TB but it will not give me access.
     
  9. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    320
    very true seems like a good idea ...thank you for the input as it also helps me learn as well
     
  10. charlesbeebe

    charlesbeebe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    No problem.

    @bankswood- when you go into TB did you hit problems then install busybox? This will install the current version for you.
     
  11. Bankswood

    Bankswood Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    82
    OK that worked. I can't figure how to get it to restore
     
  12. charlesbeebe

    charlesbeebe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    How to get what to restore?
     
  13. Bankswood

    Bankswood Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    82
    Well i apologize I'm a little confused. All of my apps are restored. I guess I will need to rebuild things like my email accounts, etc. They are wiped out.
     
  14. charlesbeebe

    charlesbeebe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well yes unless you have created a backup through rom manager or clockwork mod recovery. In that case restoring your data is simple. You will have to reboot into recovery then navigate to restore/backup. Go into that and select advanced restore, then select restore data only from the most current backup. Whala your back to your good ol phone
     
  15. Bankswood

    Bankswood Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    82
    OKI have rebooted and gotten to advanced it now is asking to restore boot, Restore System, Resote data. Which one do I choose?
     
  16. Bankswood

    Bankswood Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    82
    CharlesBeebe you are the man. I am back to normal. I was able to restore data and reboot. Just a few tweakes and I'll be good as new. Can't tell you how much I appreciate it. BTW I am still downloading the SBF 2.2 and leaving it on my computer. If I ever want to unroot and start over I will need to flash, right?
     
    charlesbeebe likes this.
  17. charlesbeebe

    charlesbeebe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    Restore data only. Then you should be good
     
    Bankswood likes this.
  18. charlesbeebe

    charlesbeebe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    That's correct. The 2.2 sbf is something nice to have on hand if you do want to start fresh. No problem man. Just hit the thanks button :)
     
    Bankswood likes this.
  19. Bankswood

    Bankswood Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    82
    Can you explain the function of RSD Lite when flashing SBF 2.2?
     
  20. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    49
    Do you guys keep sbf on your SD at wall times?
     
  21. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    320
    No you keep it on your computer ....there is no need to have it on your phone and if you did it would do no good anyhow since it runs with rsd lite from your computer
     
  22. charlesbeebe

    charlesbeebe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    RSD lite is just the program that will re-flash the stock version of android to your device. It is what they use at verizon if they are having issues with android phones, ect. Just an easy way to fix/reset/wipe your phone if need be.
     

Share This Page

Loading...