Help with setting up email accounts please :)

Last Updated:

1. AtsukoPanda

AtsukoPanda Member This Topic's Starter

Ok,
    so I'm new to the whole Smartphone thing (my last phone didn't even go on the internet!) so I don't know if I'm missing something really obvious but anyway...

I'm trying to se up both my hotmail and yahoomail email accounts so as I can view my messages on my Desire but I'm not having any luck.

When I go into Messages and enter my email and correct password I keep getting the message:

'Cannot connect to the mail server to verify your account information. Your server is not responding'.

What do I have to do to sort this out? The HTC Desire online manual is very vague and brief with anything regarding troubleshooting.

Advertisement
  2. WozzaX

WozzaX Well-Known Member

Can you post what settings your putting in minus your username and password obviously?

Thanks

3. Zarch

Zarch Well-Known Member

Have you considered getting a googlemail account and having gmail pick up mails from both your yahoo and hotmail account?

I have gmail go and fetch mail from 3 different accounts and it works a dream, plus you can use google contacts etc seamlessly on the Desire.

4. AtsukoPanda

AtsukoPanda Member This Topic's Starter

I am just using the automatic settings it comes up with, so Choose a mail provider > Other (POP3/IMAP) > then entering my email address and password > click 'next' > message appears as stated above (when trying to sign in with hotmail) and 'Authentication Failed. Please verify your username/password' when trying to sign in with my yahoo mail account (even though I'm certain the email and password are spelt correctly.)

I think I set up a gmail account years ago ... is it easy to sync your other accounts to it then? So you get all your mail sent to gmail, then sync your gmail to your Desire you mean?

5. Zarch

Zarch Well-Known Member