Help with something that's driving me nuts


Last Updated:

  1. sarspants

    sarspants Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    6
    How do I type a word without adding it to my dictionary? Say I'm purposely misspelling a word for an example of something like "haha, you totally just typed compooter instead of computer" but I don't want to add that word/use the word it suggests. I can't figure it out!
     

    Advertisement
  2. marcelo0292

    marcelo0292 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just hit the space key and it doesn't add it

    Hope that helps
     
  3. eyebeam

    eyebeam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5,418
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    I use the trackball to highlight what I typed (don't click) and then space. Tada! Word not added.
     
  4. sarspants

    sarspants Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    6
    Pressing space just adds the suggested word. Trackball works though :)
     
  5. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ok... are the words once added removable? Can the learned dictionary/wordlist be edited? Some phones allow that but I haven't found it on the Hero. No biggie, just curious.

    TIA...
     
  6. eyebeam

    eyebeam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5,418
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    Annoyingly, it would appear not. You can reset the user dictionary but not edit.
     
  7. aznsmith

    aznsmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    just out of curiosity, how do you reset the user dictionary?
    I tried clearing the data out of Touch Input but my custom (misspelt) words are still in there.
     
  8. eyebeam

    eyebeam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5,418
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    This is how I've seen how to do it from other sources.

    Go to settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Read "War and Peace" and maybe go out for a beer while the info loads:) > Touch Input > Clear data. This will clear everything you have added to the dictionary.
     
  9. nianymue

    nianymue New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it takes forever to load the manage applications. I wish this phone had a faster processor.
     
  10. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    if i dont want a word entered i just tap on another part of the screen and the word is no longer highlighted therefore wont be entered...
     
  11. nianymue

    nianymue New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it takes forever to load.. I wish this phone had a faster processor.
     

Share This Page

Loading...