Help with @virginmedia.com acct


Last Updated:

  1. scuwif

    scuwif New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone, I was referred here from the virginmedia forums.

    Got my new Desire on VM and have been trying to set up my @virginmedia.com email acct for two days. I've got the "correct" settings via virgin site but no matter what I do I can't seem to receive emails. I did manage to send but not receive. I've now deleted the account but can easily reload it (or at least try to).

    When I input the pop settings my phone says can't connect to my server, also sometimes says connection timeout when I'm trying to access the mail screen on my handset.

    Another message I've had whilst trying to load the settings is that my server doesn't require ssl even though I've been told I should tick the ssl settings...

    Also keep getting the message "Cannot connect to the mail server to verify your account. Your server is not responding".

    Anyone else on here use virginmedia.com email & if so any chance you can send me details of your proven settings?

    Any help gratefully received. (btw gmail acct is working fine).

    Cheers
     

    Advertisement
  2. showshifter

    showshifter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I use virginmedia.com but my e-mail is ntlworld.com but should not be very different.

    I have enclosed the set up i used and have no problem. One set up is for ntlworld the other for virginmedia.com

    Best of luck
     

    Attached Files:

    scuwif likes this.
  3. simmy

    simmy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had this with blueyonder . use imap settings should work .
     
    scuwif likes this.
  4. fried

    fried Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    42
    scuwif likes this.
  5. scuwif

    scuwif New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers all, yeah spotted Virgin were having issues.......think its also affected my BB as just got a message saying I need to update my Virgin password for some reason even though it ain't changed.......ah happy days....be fine if I can get my mail on Desire working I can then bin the BB, that was the original plan...

    Thanks again for the info...
     
  6. kurioz

    kurioz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Htc HD MINI gets settings automatically !!

    Well it did on mine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...