Help!!!!Support


Last Updated:

  1. honugirl

    honugirl Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    can someone help me out . well i no longer have the use usb storage function on the sd card/ storage settings. ITS GONE! my computer will not reconize my phone because of this feature is MISSING. called tmobile they dont know what happened or what to do . cant get me a new phone because its so new. so they say and the store wont give me a new one cause i got it pre ordered. help please.. :(
     

    Advertisement
  2. shivers316

    shivers316 Godmember VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042
    Likes Received:
    979
    Have you tried a different usb port? Or maybe a hard reset?
     
  3. honugirl

    honugirl Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya its not working . my friend has a g1 too and he has that usb setting on his phone and i dont . what gives.
     
  4. porquepine

    porquepine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4

    Ok, this is an area I am a bit more comfortable with. From what you have said above, this does not sound like a phone issue. I would question the computer that you are using since your friend can see the phone when they plug it into their USB port.

    What you need to do is see if the USB driver is on when you plug in your phone. If you do not know how to do this, go to Control Panel and then device manager and then look at Universal Serial Bus controller. You want to make sure that the phone is recognized.

    Let me know if you need further.
     
  5. crackertc

    crackertc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    But if she's not seeing the function in the settings preferences, that means it could be something else.

    Try releasing the microsd from the slot, and put it back it.
    Also, try doing that, but rebooting the phone (turning it completely off, then back on)

    If that doesn't help, then try doing factory restore, if you need help doing that let me know.

    Good luck
     
  6. jimczyz

    jimczyz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is the unmount sd card command still there? If so, unmount it, or mount it if is not. That might be the problem.
     
  7. crackertc

    crackertc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    True, that could also be the problem.
     
  8. BandroiD

    BandroiD Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have to make sure that your G1 is set to "USB Drive" in settings (Settings > SD card & phone storage > Use for USB storage). Otherwise your computer will not recognize it as a storage device.
     
  9. crackertc

    crackertc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1

    did you read her first post?




    it is missing the "Use for USB Storage" option....
     
  10. drustvold

    drustvold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    6
    The phone shouldn't just be missing the whole USB storage settings panel.

    Either the USB reader or SD card are dead or the OS is corrupt.

    System settings don't just go missing without something fundamentally being wrong.

    Getting a replacement is going to be way easier then trying to troubleshoot and repair the problem. But it isn unfrotunat that there are no replacements avalable in your area at this time. :(
     
  11. honugirl

    honugirl Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya i definitly cant get a replacement because i have no receipt from the pre order and the phones are to new to replace. but when i was on the phone with the tmobile rep she found out what had happend. it was due to the ota update. so know instead of plugging to computer wirh usb and the sd card pops up, now a notification comes up and says "usb connected" and i have to open up that notification and then it ask to mount or unmount. so of course mount. so we have problem solved. but just incase they put notes in to notify me when they can exchange my phone via ups
     
  12. Flatman

    Flatman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    5
    nuts...
     

Share This Page

Loading...