help


Last Updated:

  1. letitbeknowniap192006

    letitbeknowniap192006 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay i posted in the wrong sub forum. I recently rooted my vibrant according to the instructions at xda. I dont think that i why i am having problems with my phone however. I also downloaded titanium backup and deleted a lot of the filler apps but i think that i deleted some crucial google settings. The market apps wont download at all, i have waited at least 30minutes with various apps and it never gets past starting download. I tried to download clockwork recovery and rom manager last night and i had the same result. I found information on odin but it is. Rar file and it wont download properly to my computer. I dont know what to do. I tried to unrootusing one click lag fix but the superuser program stayed there. Last night i also performed a system wipe, erasin all of my data, but superuser was still there. My phone is working, but i just want to get it back to its default state. Everything worked fine until i fampered with it. I want to get it back to default so i can send it back to tmobile and get a new stock phone. I thought it was slow before, but i made it even slower. Can someone help me please?
     

    Advertisement
  2. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Why do you think you need to return the phone to T-Mobile? It's not likely necessary.

    Sounds like you would do well to flash back to stock. You'll need to use Odin, which apparently you've already looked at.

    You should get the stock JI6 file for the Vibrant. You can find it here:

    [REF]***Vibrant Directory(Bible)Rev2.1--A little color can't hurt--***(10/19/2010)*** - xda-developers

    Find it under Roms (Odin), the Official JI6 update.

    What do you mean a .rar file won't download to your computer? Do you mean you can't open it? If so, get 7zip, which can handle .rar. files.

    7-Zip

    Extract the files and using Odin put them in their appropriate places, then flash to stock.

    You do know how to get into download mode when using Odin?

    I wouldn't worry about Superuser if you end up returning the phone. It's not likely anyone would know to check for it. I don't know if App Monster or a similar app would be able to remove it.

    When uninstalling apps with Titanium, don't ever delete anything Google, especially Google Talk. As you've discovered, it causes a lot of grief.
     
  3. letitbeknowniap192006

    letitbeknowniap192006 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can i get all of the stock apps and settings back if i flash back with odin? I didnt care for google voice but i accidentally deleted swype with swype tips and i hate the samsung keyboard. I dont know i got along without swype before.d
     
  4. letitbeknowniap192006

    letitbeknowniap192006 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also i am really new at this. It is my first smartphone and i think that i should have left it alone.
     
  5. djquick

    djquick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    23
    Or........just bring up your dial pad on your phone and enter *2767*3855# which will do a complete factory wipe/format ( including wiping/formatting your interior sd card) then reinstall the phone firmware and put your phone back to when you first took it out of the box.
     
  6. djquick

    djquick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    23
    On a side note; these stock apps are all safe to remove after rooting your phone:


    AccountAndSync.apk/odex -> The app in the drawer, not the settings.
    AddToHome.apk/odex
    AudioPostcard.apk/odex
    Avatar.apk/odex -> The app that launches Avatar in the video player.
    BuddiesNow.apk/odex
    Dlna.apk/odex [Allshare]
    FlashPlugin.apk/odex
    GoGo.apk/odex
    Infoalarm.apk/odex [Daily Briefing]
    KindleStub.apk/odex
    Layer-samsung.apk/odex
    MediaHub.apk/odex
    Memo.apk/odex
    Mini Diary.apk/odex
    MobiTV.apk/odex
    MyAccountStub_4-5-10.apk/odex
    Myfiles.apk/odex
    Sims3_Samsung_Embed_Launcher.apk/odex
    slackerradio.apk/odex
    Swype-Tips.apk/odex
    Telenav.apk/odex
    thinkdroid.apk/odex [ThinkFree Office]
    vvm-signed.apk/odex -> T-Mobile Visual Voicemail [can be re-downloaded from the market. for some reason that version is the preferred one.]
    VoiceRecorder.apk/odex
    VoceDialer.apk/odex
    Writeandgo.apk/odex
     
  7. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Use the JI6 file with Odin. You will be back to out-of-the-box status. Using "repartition" in Odin will wipe the internal SD card and remove traces of past rooting/superuser etc.

    EDIT: well...not exactly out-of-the-box...the phone was shipped with the JFD firmware. There's a file for flashing back to JFD if that's what you want, though there's no good reason to do that.
     
  8. letitbeknowniap192006

    letitbeknowniap192006 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wbovine how do.i flash back with the JFD firmware
    djquick how do i reinstall ths phone firmware
    thank you both for trying to help
     
  9. djquick

    djquick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    23
    Just like my post says above; just push the phone button on your phone, enter *2767*3855#, then the phone will do the rest; should take 30 seconds. After it finishes, re-root your phone and remove the stock apps I posted above.

    You don't have to flash your phone at all if you just rooted your phone and didn't install a custom rom. If you just rooted your phone, you still have the JFD kernel/firmware. The code you put in above will restore the phone back to when you first took it out of the box.
     
  10. letitbeknowniap192006

    letitbeknowniap192006 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    W bovine i don't know how to set my phone into download mode. Is there a way i can watch a video to do it step by step with he video or can you tell me?
     
  11. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Well, the way it always works for me is: Turn the phone off. Plug the USB cable into the phone. Hold down the VOL up + down buttons, then plug the USB cable into the computer. That should put you into download mode. It's worked for me every time.

    There's a YouTube video on using Odin that I believe shows this. I can't access YouTube right now as I'm at work. Do a search along the lines of "Vibrant, Odin" and you'll probably find it.
     
  12. letitbeknowniap192006

    letitbeknowniap192006 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    DJquick that didn't work for me at all. I put in the number, the screen said factory format and that the phone would reboot in a few seconds. I didn't install any custom roms. I don't know why it didn't work for me.
     
  13. letitbeknowniap192006

    letitbeknowniap192006 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, which 7zip do i download. I have Windows Vista basic on my computer.
     
  14. djquick

    djquick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    23
    If it said factory format then rebooted; it worked. You should now have your phone back the way it was when you pulled it out of the box.
     
  15. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Depends on which version you have...it's either 32-bit or 64-bit.

    Right click on My Computer and see if you find that information there. It's only an guess, but I'd expect you have 32-bit.
     

Share This Page

Loading...