Hero as bedside alarm clock?


Last Updated:

  1. azwinter

    azwinter Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all new here and looking at switching from my BlackBerry tho the new Eris when it hits VZW.
    My question is since this is basically a Hero repackaged can anyone tell me about the ability to use this as a bedside alarm clock.
    Does it change to a clock interface? Can it be dimmed? and how reliable is the alarm function?
    Thanks for the info.
    Also can you turn the phone volume off so alerts and phone calls dont ring while still leaving the alarm volume active?
     

    Advertisement
  2. 0bnxshs

    0bnxshs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure it does. There are currently 52 results for "alarm clock" in the Market.
     
  3. mustang5o

    mustang5o Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    5
    I used the build in alarms just fine. I don't want it lit up the whole time so I just let is sleep and yes, you can adjust ringer and alarm volume separately.
     
  4. jlee

    jlee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is anyone else having problems with the built-in alarm functionality? I use it as my morning alarm for work and it seems that every third day or so, the alarms do not go off. I thought that perhaps I wasn't hearing the phone vibrate. However, I had set an alarm to give a wake up call to my wife this morning, had the phone propped up right next to my computer screen and there was no alert on the Hero screen or vibration at the designated time.
     
  5. pking

    pking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got an app called 'Night Clock' that works pretty well for this - gives you the big ugly alarm-clock type digital clock that fills the screen, and plays random music from your collection to wake you up. It's a little.. young.. but looks promising if the dev can figure out how to make multiple alarms and/or keep it running in the background if you accidentally browse away from it.
     
  6. Nanan

    Nanan Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    The built in alarm clock is tied to the HTC clock widget which is about as reliable as a crack head with $100 in his pocket.

    I have found Alarming! to thus far be an exelent alarm clock that has not given me a single issue yet in the two week or so of use. I dig the puzzle captcha options for disable/snooze, I have a bad habit of turning off my alarm clock in my sleep but I am not able to solve puzzles with my eyes closed.
     
  7. mustang5o

    mustang5o Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    5
    The only problem I've ever had was when it did the mysterious time change a week early. Since then, no alarm clock issues.
     
  8. pdragon

    pdragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    19
    Most of people's clock problems I've found are cause by task killers killing the Clock process. While your alarm icon will still appear in the notification bar, if the Clock process is killed, none of your alarms will go off.

    The alarm has worked perfectly fine for me.
     
  9. g0tr00t

    g0tr00t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    5
    There is an app called Bedside. Problem is this...The new version is NOT for HTC Hero.....but the old one is and the old one is free.

    I am looking for the old version for my Hero. I cannot find a download link for it. I found a bunch of references to it, but no link... :(

    Can anyone help?
     
  10. Saltwater Hero

    Saltwater Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes bedside is an amazing app I think it even displays the weather now but we cant get it not until we get the 2.0 update for our phones I beleive.
     
  11. tomemail

    tomemail Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    5
    Using the HTC alarm has anyone else noticed the alarm volume decreasing on its own?

    A few times, my alarm alert has not been apparent, but when I do wake up, I notice it did go off but the volume is decreased to the point that it doesn't wake me up.

    Then I check the volume and it is always at the same level...about 2/3rds up..??
     
  12. mikelst

    mikelst New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use this alarm multiple times every day and i haven't had any problems at all. That is using the default sprint hero clock app.
     
  13. g0tr00t

    g0tr00t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    5
    Here is a direct quote from the developer

    That's the one I am looking for. I like the fact that it shuts down notifications....getting tired of the 5am BZZZZZZZT. From my bank emails :)
     
  14. big_z

    big_z Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    57
    I've used the stock alarm since the start of November and it's never let me down, though the snooze button is very small and difficult to press when you first wake up, and it is fairly easy to dismiss the alarm when you mean to snooze.
     
  15. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    You can hit the volume toggle to snooze the alarm instead of having to hit the small button on the screen.

    Is there a link to that old version of bedside? Sounds like that is what I would like to try.
     
  16. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    I find that to be a good thing as it forces me to wake up. I'm horrible at hitting snooze without realizing I'm doing it.
     
  17. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    I exchanged some emails with the developer and he posted the hero version back into the market for free.
     
  18. Newoe

    Newoe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same issue...

    I checked the alarm volume every night for 5 nights to verify the alarm volume was on and worked with no issues, but last week I went with out checking it every night and on the 3rd night alarm volume went to zero and missed the wake up. Going to try to unistall TaskKiller...
     
  19. djkleric

    djkleric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    19
    This seems to happen when you dissable the alarm and then reinstate it. lets say you dont need it for a week and turn off the alarm, then the following week you start the alarm again. This will put the alarm back to a lower volume. At least it does for me. Other than that I use the stock alarm with out fail each morning. other than the damn snooze button being so damn small it works great
     
  20. pdxgeek

    pdxgeek Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use AClock. Works pretty well.
     
  21. csurugbyhooker

    csurugbyhooker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tend to sleep through all kinds of obnoxious noises and the stock alarm for the Hero does a hell of a job waking me up each day. Just make sure you have the proper days checked off on the alarm setting.
     
  22. Haxcid

    Haxcid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    I use the built in alarm on my Eris. The one that is in the HTC widget. Works great. I have 3 alarms set to wake me up (heavy sleeper) and a 4th in case I over sleep the first 3. All of them go off right on schedule. Add ringdroid and I can add many alarm sounds as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...