Hero clock is confused about where I am


Last Updated:

  1. busboy789

    busboy789 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    My phone gets confused about where I am while at home. I do not have a reliable Sprint signal at home and many times the phone is switching back and forth from Sprint to roam. The problem is that sometimes while roaming the phone thinks it is in another time zone.
    Is there a way to force the clock to stay in my time zone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    DO you have the "Use wireless network" feature checked under Menu > Settings > Location?

    If so uncheck it, otherwise i'm not so sure.
     
  3. cij1916

    cij1916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    My problem is when I go to Long Beach, MS it thinks I'm in Long Beach, CA and changes me 2 hrs behind lol...bout to check that setting to make sure it's checked for me lol
     
  4. jimdroid

    jimdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    106
    I've had a lot of trouble with the HTC clocks. The standard shipping clock, the non-flip flip clock would do as you describe: frequently show an incorrect city and almost never show the weather at the actual current location. I have tried it with "use wireless network" checked and unchecked, and I always leave my GPS on.

    I drove through Albany CA and it changed the time to East Coast time, which was interesting.

    I switched to one of the smaller clocks and set the city to my location at home and have not had a problem since.
     
  5. tdieckman

    tdieckman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    That's funny 'cause when I was in Long Beach, CA, my Hero was confused and had me on an hour different time zone!
     
  6. cij1916

    cij1916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is the smaller clock in the market or a widget already on our phones? I like that the weather is there too...but looks like I'll be changing lol
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Serious question, not trying to be sarcastic, but why use a big clock when the one in the notification bar is there?
     
  8. cij1916

    cij1916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    I can see the big clock a whole lot faster than focusing on a small clock in a small area
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    That works!

    Back to the regularly scheduled thread.
     
  10. jimdroid

    jimdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    106
    It's one of the HTC clock widgets. There are several to choose from, though only a couple that don't take up a whole screen.


    jd (who has old eyes)
     
  11. pdragon

    pdragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    19
    Sounds like the clock is going by city name alone for getting the time zone instead of location based or city & state.

    Anyone else confirm this?
     
  12. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    I talked to a sprint person about this just this past weekend. It is a known bug which will be fixed in the next software update. For some reason when you add the clock widget and select "current location" it will find your city name, then base the timezone on that name, and it is not always correct.
     
  13. NCKK

    NCKK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    3
    It's just trying to give you more time to do whatever... think of it as 2 hours free time. :p
     
  14. pdragon

    pdragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    19
    Is this just with the HTC clock widgets, or is the notification bar clock off as well?
     
  15. cij1916

    cij1916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just the widget...the clock on the notification area stays correct
     
  16. jimdroid

    jimdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    106
    +1. This has been my experience as well. The lock-screen clock is always correct as well; just the widgets are affected.
     
  17. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    Workaround I did was to use a HTC widget clock set to my city (so the time wont change, its fixed to LA.)

    Then added the smaller weather widget and set that to current city so the weather will update based on where I am.

    I also like the small analog clock, when you unlock the phone, the hands will spins until it reaches the current time.
     
  18. cij1916

    cij1916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Will this work if I'm in Long Beach, MS? I don't care what time or how the weather is in CA lol.
     
  19. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    The problem seems to only be with the time zone, not the weather.

    Hard to tell, cause I am in Long beach and it is always sunny.

    I don't think the problem effects the weather.
     
  20. cij1916

    cij1916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh yes it does affect the weather...It's told me it's sunny in Long Beach and I can look out the window and it's raining...ain't no sun on the whole coast of MS and it thinks it's sunny...or at night we're like in the 40s or 50s and it tells me it's in the 70s, ummm I think not lol
     
  21. jimdroid

    jimdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    106
    Me too re the weather, which is why I switched to a Clock with no weather.

    The clock widgets are not among HTC's prouder accomplishments :)
     
  22. busboy789

    busboy789 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the replies.
    like the others the clock in the notification bar stays in my current time zone (Central), but the widget occasionally goes to Eastern time. I haven't noticed this when I'm not roaming for what it is worth.
    I can live with the fluctuation at home, I was concerned about my alarm clocks. I'm guessing they go by the notification bar clock not the widget. At least I hope so.
     
  23. fotoflojoe

    fotoflojoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a similar issue.
    I work in Concord, MA. When I'm there, the Sense clock widget thinks it's in Concord, CA - a three hour time difference. It's just the HTC widget though, the phone itself keeps proper time.

    From what I found, this bug is acknowledged by HTC. The widget gets confused when receiving a time signal from a tower that is not configured properly.

    Hope this helps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...