Hero Connection IssuesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. PhantomParadox

    PhantomParadox Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    10
    The wife and I both have the Sprint Hero. They are both running the Sprint 2.1 release.

    I love mine. Her's has been nothing short of a nightmare, and I cannot figure it out for the life of me.

    Her phone almost constantly has connection issues. Anything that "syncs" fails on a regular basis. Her weather widget goes blank. When trying to refresh it, there is an error box indication that there is a connection failure. When opening the market, an error indication a connection failure. Opening Facebook or the Yahoo! Fantasy Football app both give an error indication a failure to connect.

    I have found two solutions;

    1. A battery pull. This will usually set the phone straight for ~ 24 hours. By the next evening it is back to having connection failures.

    2. Running the update PRL. The PRL Version stays the same, but running the update seems to jump start the data connection.

    I have never run into any of these issues with my Hero. The only difference is that she accepted the update to 2.27.651.6, and I'm still on .5.

    When I took it to a Sprint service center, the guy told me to erase her text messages and clear her browser cashe. Then he ran the update PRL and told me it was fixed. It's not.

    Can anyone here actually help me.

    Thank you, in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    Run the RUU back to .5 and see if that works.
     
    PhantomParadox likes this.
  3. PhantomParadox

    PhantomParadox Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    10
    Did the roll back last night. We'll see if it doesn't help.

    Thanks for the suggestion.
     
  4. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    What are teh other Advantages to going to .5?
    Will the new maintanence Update stil work on .5?
     
  5. PhantomParadox

    PhantomParadox Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    10
    @treborcj

    So far, the roll back has worked.

    Thanks again!
     
  6. PhantomParadox

    PhantomParadox Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    10
    And now it seems I spoke to soon.

    Last night my wife's phone lost connection again. The Weather widget and Facebook app were both giving the failed to connect error.

    She noticed it when a picture wouldn't download in Handcent. It was a picture sent from her sister's phone, so it shouldn't have been to large. I believe the file was 600kb.

    We did a power cycle, and it seemed to work.

    Should there be any effect if the phone travels in and out of service areas? Where my wife works is in a Sprint low signal zone. While she's in the building she doesn't get any signal. When she pulls out of the parking lot all of the messages from that day start to flow in.

    Could the phone be getting lost by not being on the network all day? Her messages and voice mails come through, but the data just stops working. The weather, the facebook, the fantasy football, all of them give the connection failed error. If I am remembering correctly, while she is having this problem, there is no icon next to the signal bars showing Ev or 1RX. It is like the radio is stuck in "phone call" mode, and can't switch back to data.

    Any thoughts?
     
  7. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    If you have things syncing all the time, ie: gmail, email, facebook... and you have NO signal, your phone, as soon as it gets a signal, will populate all missed messages
     
  8. michdmb

    michdmb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same issue and wanted to see if anyone had a solution. I get the "connection failed" popup when I try to use weather, the browser, and several other programs and it happens randomly. It is fixed by cycling off/on the mobile connection, but this is annoying and I'm pretty sure no email or anything will update while the phone is in the "failed connection" state. The only way to know when it happens is to check the weather or browser. Any ideas?

    Mike
     

Share This Page

Loading...