Hero doesn't always turn onSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Michaeljc70

    Michaeljc70 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had my Hero 2 days and everything seems to work normal except sometimes it will not turn on. I press the power/end call button and nothing happens.

    If I pull the battery out and put it back in and try, then it works. Anyone else had this problem? I guess I should take it back, but since everything else works, seems odd.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Michaeljc70

    Michaeljc70 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    SOLVED! (I think)

    So, what is really happening is my phone will not turn on if it is plugged into my pc. If I unplug it, it turns on everytime. If it is plugged in, it never turns on.

    Can someone verify this behavior?
     
  3. quentinfisher

    quentinfisher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not true in my case. Tried the Hero usb cable and two other HTC ones I have and turned on every time, HTC synced and connected confirmed. I would try a different USB cable and see if that works. Is your pc reading the phone as it should? Is your phone connected to the PC, do you get the charging icon when you plug it in?
     
  4. Michaeljc70

    Michaeljc70 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    It syncs and charges fine while plugged in.

    I unplugged it and it would not turn on. I pulled battery and it put back in and it did. The orange light was on when it would not turn on. What does that mean? Shouldn't all lights be off if unplugged and off?
     
  5. quentinfisher

    quentinfisher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you haven't already I would try updating your phone. Orange light only comes on when it's charging as far as I know. Settings > About Phone > System Updates, in case you haven't.
     
  6. Michaeljc70

    Michaeljc70 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried frimware previously and there weren't any. I did the other 2 (Profile and PRL). Do you know what the different updates are?

    Seems to be working now with the On button, but will see over next few days.

    Thanks
     
  7. quentinfisher

    quentinfisher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firmware being the actual OS(only 1.5 is available to us right now unfortunately)
    PRL is how we get service from towers, but I dont think that would affect you.
    Profile has something to do with how data is transferred/read on the phone I believe so that might of been what was messing you up when connected to your PC. Not sure, but glad you got it fixed and it didn't turn out to be a hardware issue haha.
     

Share This Page

Loading...