hero eclair or 2.0.1


Last Updated:

  1. Eaglesfan9106

    Eaglesfan9106 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    14
    so im confused is htc updating the hero to eclair or 2.0.1 cause i dont see any reason for them to update to eclair if 2.0.1 is already out or is that not a significant upgrade from eclair just let me know i just cant take all this speculation i want to know whats going onnnnn
     

    Advertisement
  2. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    200
    2.0.1 is a specific to droid update, and won't be comming to the Hero. The specualtion is however, that the hero will be recciving the 2.1 version of the software (which is what the leaked builds show). What the differances are between 2.0 and 2.1 are not yet totally clear, but in my guess it's probably bust to wait for HTC to officially announce what they are releasing.

    EDIT: IT is also worth noting that both of HTC's offical tweet's on the matter have stated that it is Eclair (2.0) coming to the Hero
     
  3. rizzla

    rizzla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    4
    If I'm not mistaken 2.1 fixes a few bugs in 2.0 and some tiny improvements. It makes no sense jumping to 2.0 when 2.1 is available, HTC know that because they'll just have to update again, so they'e skipped 1.6 and 2.0 and just gone straight to 2.1. One update instead of three, makes sense to me.

    below link is the developers SDK page for android with information on 2.1.

    Android 2.0.1, Release 1 | Android Developers
     
  4. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    200
    That link is for 2.0.1 not 2.1. Which means that I was wrong about 2.0.1 being a Droid specific release.

    The leaked ROM's were all 2.1, which doesn't help clear anything up at all
     
  5. Eaglesfan9106

    Eaglesfan9106 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    14
    i just hope whatever update we get we get it soon i hate being patient lol
     
  6. slapshot2940

    slapshot2940 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    So there is no date set for when Sprint's HTC Hero is going to receive an update? Whether it's 2.1, or 2.0?
     
  7. Eaglesfan9106

    Eaglesfan9106 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    14
    as far as i know no there isnt i have the sprint hero and it pisses me off that sprint hasnt even said that they were giving the update and htc says there working on the update thats like some1 waving something in ur face saying u cant have it
     
  8. rizzla

    rizzla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    4
    HTC are good when it come to updating their phones, just check out all the updates in their support page.

    When the GMS Hero got the lag update and T-mobile UK were pissing in the wind about it, I just got mine from custom rom based on the official release from HTC.
     
  9. slapshot2940

    slapshot2940 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    so is there a way to get a custom rom based 2.0/2.1 on a sprint hero?

    can someone explain what the whole ROM business means? i've been out of the game for a few years and forgot.
     
  10. rizzla

    rizzla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    4
    None out yet as no one has leaked a rom from HTC for sprint.

    From what i know. the rom is the build of the phone, we have android 1.5 and HTC then worked on it and added sense UI and a few other things. Just because the OS is available in version 2 you can't just dump it on a phone and expect it to simply work, they need to make it work with the hardware so the manufacturers still have to work on it.

    Someone could take a rom from another machine and rework its so it functions on that machine, but it may not always run very well. For instance there are Hero roms working on G1's.

    People are using Android 2.1 with Hero Sense UI now because they got hold of the leaked rom HTC are working on, but it was an early building and not very optimized, plus market didn't work amongst some other things.

    Simple fact, when HTC finish it, they'll put it on their website, your carrier will then get a copy and added their little bits to it and release a few days or weeks later, by that time some custom rom builder will have hacked it to pieces and made it run quicker.
     
  11. slapshot2940

    slapshot2940 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    so using hacked roms makes it run quicker/better?

    is there a hacked rom for 1.5 for sprint hero that I should be using?

    does this take away warranties?
     
  12. rizzla

    rizzla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    4
    Depends if the person who made the rom optimized it. Usually they do.

    Just looked on XDA developers and there seems to be some roms.

    Hero CDMA - xda-developers CDMA Hero Page

    It does take away your warranty, but you should make a backup of your original Rom so if something broke on your phone you could flash the original Rom Back on.

    You have to be very careful with flashing a new rom on your device so you need to fully understand what your doing before attempting it as the worst case scenario is bricking your phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...