Hero keeps malfunctioning


Last Updated:

  1. jmflint

    jmflint Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't even know what search words to put in for this, but I did try to browse through the forum before posting...

    I am having a helluva time with the HTC Hero (Sprint). I love the phone, but then it does things like force closing the PHONE APP. I am looking at a phone with "No Service" because it forced closed the too-long-a-name-to-type application that runs the friggin' phone.

    It also force closed a whole bunch of other things.

    And now, if I look at the running apps, it looks like it loaded 12-15 apps upon start-up!! I *know* this can't be right, but I don't know what to do.

    This is the second time this happened to me -- the first time, I ended up wiping out the entire thing and starting from scratch. That did NOT make me happy. Now it looks like I'll have to do that again because I can't USE THE PHONE.

    Sorry, I'm just beside myself and I don't know how to explain what's happening. It looks like I'll have to make a trip to Sprint, but if anyone has any insight, I'd really appreciate it.

    Thanks in advance --

    JM Flint
     

    Advertisement
  2. etbrandt

    etbrandt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    20
    Did it start doing it again immediately after the wipe? And are you running a task killer?
     
  3. 305Cane

    305Cane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    27

    ^ Extremely important question ^


    Also, If you are running a Task killer, are you killing tasks or just seeing whats running?
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    ^^Is extremely correct!!!
     
  5. zombdroid

    zombdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    96
    I concur
     
  6. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    JM Flint,

    I was experiencing similar problems, but i found the solution to be keeping Advanced Task Killer from running it's "auto-end" service on programs. it was basically ending all non-excluded apps when a certain memory level was met (Strange I thought it was based on time frequency), and note that there were some Android processes like the Phone that are impossible to find in ATK to add "exclude" setting. I would disable your task manager first, reboot, and see how that goes.
     
  7. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    If you are experiencing this problem and have not installed any APPS from the marketplace.

    You have bad hardware.

    But, this is only if you have not installed apps.. Nothing else would do this unless you have installed apps. Get my drift?
     
  8. jmflint

    jmflint Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have installed apps -- kinda would defeat the purpose of this phone if I didn't. ;)

    I am running Advanced Task Killer with default settings; I will look at those now. However, is "ending" a program the same as "force closing" a program? The force close I'm getting is the type of "unexpectedly quit" message I'm used to seeing on Microsoft products (shudder).

    I *think* the commonality is that the phone's battery died, and after the recharge is when I lost all phone functions.
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    What he was saying is to make sure that it's NOT the apps causing the problem ;)
     
  10. SilHero

    SilHero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    jmflint, i had the same problem as u are having. unfortunatly i dont know the answer to the problem.

    It all happened when my phone died, i plugged it in and it started up but force closed a lot of programs that i did not know of. It also said i had no service and could not make calls, get on the net...

    i took it to sprint and they reset my fone back to new. I became more careful on what apps i got from the market and what i closed with the Task Manager.

    2 days ago, my phone died and when i plugged it in to start it up, everything worked, but the icons for Movies, Advanced Task Manager, and Where were all differenet or missing... i dont know whats causing these problems, but i am experiencing this as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...