Hero not working after Android updateSupport


Last Updated:

  1. QinetiQ

    QinetiQ New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So basically my girlfriend did an update of her Android OS today, installed, the phone restarted automatically, started loading something and the loading bar stayed at 3/4 for like 2hrs. So she tried to turn it off using the button but didn't work so she took out the battery. Then after turning it on, the phone stays at the "Hero" homescreen and doesn't do anything. So I was thinking, is there a way to reinstall android on it? If so, where can I download the OS? Thanks if advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    When you say update, you mean she flashed it or did an OTA update, what version firmware was she on??


     
  3. QinetiQ

    QinetiQ New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't got a clue. She says she turned on her WiFi to update the weather and a message popped up about some update so she clicked OK or whatever and that's it...

    Today I tried turning it on by pressing the power & home button and I get three options to chose from, Reboot, perform update from SD card and erase or format or whatever. So...I tried to install new ROM by downloading it, putting it on the SD card and then pressing the "Update from SD card" option and it starts but then terminates saying, Verification Failed...
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Sounds like the OTA update was interrupted mid flash. But the phone is recoverable, don't worry :)

    I'm guessing you just stuck the firmware.exe from the HTC website on the phone and tried to flash that? That won't work because the .exe contains a load of extra stuff as well as the firmware.zip you want to flash. This post explains how you can get that firmware.zip out of the firmware.exe :)

    You should be able to flash it the way you've already tried.

    EDIT: Oh yeah, what network is your girlfriends phone on? If the phone is branded (Orange/T-Mobile/etc) then it will need a slightly different firmware. Just pick the most up to date firmware with the correct branding from this page.
     
  5. QinetiQ

    QinetiQ New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I just downloaded some random ROM and tried to flash that :S I can't find that firmware.exe on htc's website that you're talking of. I don't even know what RUU is. She bought the phone off contract so she's not binded to any carrier (we're in EU). I'd appreciate it if you could provide me with direct link to the files I need. I'd really be thankful
     
  6. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Why would you flash a random Rom without knowing what you were installing, you should start back from scratch, is your phone a Sprint CDMA , or is it a GSM phone ??


     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Ok, a phone bought off contract in the EU will be an unbranded GSM one. So you need this ROM: HTC Hero - ROM Upgrade for HTC Hero

    (Although just to be sure, it does look like the one in the picture on that page, right?)

    Oh and RUU stands for ROM Update Utility and basically is just a program for windows that will install the firmware on your phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...