Hero on metro PCS with 2.1?


Last Updated:

  1. Streetman

    Streetman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well, what do you think, now that 2.1 is out? Is it possible? Easy?

    I have no idea how to do any of this, but there's a guy here locally who sells Heros pre flashed for metroPCS (but with 1.6). Perhaps it's simple to combine the two? Please tell me it is.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    2.1 isn't out yet you know :rolleyes: Sprint phones only.
     
  3. Streetman

    Streetman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    4
    OK, so what would it take to get the Sprint ROM and make it metroPCS?

    I'm switching the Helio Ocean over to metroPCS tomorrow, for a $40 flash charge. We'll check the signal/call drops first, and then consider a $250 Hero if I can get 2.1.
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    Seeing as both are CDMA providers, I've moved this to the Sprint HTC Hero forum where someone may be able to advise you.
     
  5. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    The xda forums have directions on how to get 2.1 on non-sprint CDMA phones. I have no idea if it would work though and I'm pretty sure it would involve rooting your phone.

    Flashing the sprint ROM directly has reported to NOT work.
     
  6. kc720

    kc720 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    8
    hes talking about flashing the phone to metropcs. and the answer is yes and no. the official 2.1 cant be rooted yet, so no go for full internet and mms. but the phone can be rooted and flash a rooted 2.1 rom, and there are many heroes running 2.1 on metropcs with full functionality including market, apps, internet, and mms
     

Share This Page

Loading...